May 21, 2019

Six Buckeyes Named to All-Big Ten Teams


FOLLOW the Buckeyes on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram | 2019 Schedule | 2019 Roster | Baseball Homepage | Big Ten Baseball | Big Ten Tournament Central Page | Ohio State Tournament Notes

OMAHA, Neb. – Six members on the Ohio State baseball team were named to All-Big Ten Teams, the conference office announced Tuesday afternoon. Junior outfielder Dominic Canzone was named a first team All-Big Ten selection, while sophomore catcher Dillon Dingler and senior outfielder Brady Cherry were named to the second team list. Redshirt freshman pitcher Seth Lonsway was honored on the third team. Joining Lonsway on the All-Freshman list are freshman shortstop Zach Dezenzo and freshman pitcher Garrett Burhenn. Fifth-year senior captain Ridge Winand was named as the team’s Sportsmanship Award Winner.

Canzone, from Sagamore Hills, Ohio, has been the top hitters for the Buckeyes and in the Big Ten. Canzone is in the Top 5 in eight different Big Ten offensive statistical categories, including first in hits (81), slugging (.643) and total bases (146). He ranks second in average (.357), on-base percentage (.442) and run scored (56) and third in homers (15). Canzone’s 16 doubles is fifth-best in the league. He’s powered a team-high 15 homers. Canzone led the Big Ten in league games with a .347 average, 40 hits, 11 doubles and 68 total bases. He is currently on a career-high 51-game reached base streak, which is the second-longest active streak in the nation. Canzone, a three-time OSU Scholar-Athlete, is now a three-time All-Big Ten selection.

Dingler, from North Canton, Ohio, earns his second career All-Big Ten honor after being named to the All-Freshman list in 2018. A three-time OSU Scholar-Athlete, Dingler was voted by his teammates as a captain as just a sophomore this spring. He has made 36 starts in 41 games, including 28 starts behind the dish. Dingler is batting .282 with seven doubles, one triple, two homers, 15 RBI and 24 walks. Dingler is currently on a career-high 31-game reached base streak heading into postseason play.

Cherry, from Pendleton, Ind., has had a standout senior season for the Scarlet and Gray. He’s hitting .304 with 41 runs scored, 14 doubles, one triple, 14 homers, 45 RBI and 26 walks in 55 starts at left field. Cherry is second overall in the conference behind Canzone in hits with a season-high 68 knocks. A two-time Academic All-Big Ten honoree, Cherry ranks fourth in the league in RBI (41) and sixth in the conference in slugging percentage (.559). In Big Ten games, Cherry has homered seven times and driven in 19 runs in the middle of the Buckeye batting order.

Lonsway, from Celina, Ohio, earns his first career Big Ten honors on the third team and All-Freshman team. He leads the conference in strikeouts (110) and strikeouts looking (34). Lonsway is 7-4 with a 3.91 ERA with one complete game victory on the year in 14 starts. He’s fanned a league-best 71 hitters in Big Ten games with opponents hitting .214. An OSU Scholar-Athlete, the left-hander has been honored by the conference four times this spring, three as pitcher of the week and one as freshman of the week.

Burhenn, from Indianapolis, Ind., earns his first career Big Ten recognition. In his first season with the Scarlet and Gray, he has become the team’s Friday night starter on the mound. Burhenn is 6-3 with a 3.53 ERA with 66 strikeouts, working a team-high 86.2 innings on the bump. Burhenn has been reliable on the mound to start a series. He has made quality starts in 11 of 14 appearances this season, going at least five innings in 13 starts. Burhenn has fanned 40 in 49.1 innings of work in eight starts in Big Ten play. An OSU Scholar-Athlete, Burhenn was recognized as Big Ten Freshman of the Week to start the season.

Dezenzo, a native of Alliance, Ohio, also earns his first career Big Ten honor on the All-Freshman team. The OSU rookie has made an immediate impact in the Buckeye lineup, making 50 starts, including 17 start nods at third base and the last 33 starts at shortstop. He’s batting .266 with eight doubles, nine homers and 33 RBI. Dezenzo has been a force at the plate, powering the second-most homers by a Big Ten freshmen in 2019. He’s had two multi-homer games as a freshman and combined for 18 extra-base hits, which is fourth-most on the team. He was honored twice this spring as Big Ten Freshman of the Week.

No. 7 seed Ohio State opens the Big Ten Tournament against No. 2 seed Michigan at 2 p.m. ET Wednesday in the first round at TD Ameritrade Park in Omaha, Neb. The game will be televised on BTN and can be heard on AM 1460 ESPN.

Player of the Year: Jordan Brewer, Michigan
Pitcher of the Year: Andrew Saalfrank, Indiana
Freshman of the Year: Maxwell Costes, Maryland
Coach of the Year: Jeff Mercer, Indiana

All-Big Ten First Team
C – Eli Wilson, Minnesota
1B – Maxwell Costes, Maryland
2B – Michael Massey, Illinois
SS – Jack Dunn, Northwestern
3B – Alex Erro, Northwestern
OF – Zac Taylor, Illinois
OF – Jordan Brewer, Michigan
OF – Dominic Canzone, Ohio State
SP – Andy Fisher, Illinois
SP – Andrew Saalfrank, Indiana
SP – Jeff Criswell, Michigan
RP – Garrett Acton, Illinois
DH – Jordan Nwogu, Michigan
At-Large – Matt Lloyd, Indiana

All-Big Ten Second Team
C – Dillon Dingler, Ohio State
1B – Scotty Bradley, Indiana
2B – Royce Ando, Michigan State
SS – Jack Blomgren, Michigan
3B – Cole Barr, Indiana
OF – Randy Bednar, Maryland
OF – Matt Gorski, Indiana
OF – Aaron Palensky, Nebraska
SP – Max Meyer, Minnesota
SP – Dante Biasi, Penn State
SP – Tevin Murray, Rutgers
RP – Grant Leonard, Iowa
DH – Cam Chick, Nebraska
At-Large – Brady Cherry, Ohio State

All-Big Ten Third Team
C – Joe Donovan, Michigan
1B – Jimmy Kerr, Michigan
2B – Shawn Goosenberg, Northwestern
SS – AJ Lee, Maryland
3B – Taylor Wright, Maryland
OF – Jack Yalowitz, Illinois
OF – Elijah Dunham, Indiana
OF – Jesse Franklin, Michigan
SP – Hunter Parsons, Maryland
SP – Karl Kauffmann, Michigan
SP – Seth Lonsway, Ohio State
RP – Bo Hofstra, Purdue
DH – Michael Pineiro, Maryland
At-Large – Cole McKenzie, Purdue

All-Big Ten Freshman Team
C – Michael Trautwein, Northwestern
1B – Maxwell Costes, Maryland
2B – Shawn Goosenberg, Northwestern
SS – Zach Dezenzo, Ohio State
3B – Justin Williams, Penn State
OF – Cam McDonald, Illinois
OF – Grant Richardson, Indiana
OF – Zaid Walker, Michigan State
SP – Michael Doherty, Northwestern
SP – Garrett Burhenn, Ohio State
SP – Seth Lonsway, Ohio State
RP – Willie Weiss, Michigan
DH – Cam Chick, Nebraska
At-Large – Michael Pineiro, Maryland

Sportsmanship Award Honorees
David Craan, Illinois
Drew Ashley, Indiana
Mitchell Boe, Iowa
Taylor Wright, Maryland
Jimmy Kerr, Michigan
Marty Bechina, Michigan State
Jeff Fasching, Minnesota
Joe Acker, Nebraska
Danny Katz, Northwestern
Ridge Winand, Ohio State
Blake Hodgens, Penn State
Bryce Bonner, Purdue
Tyler McNamara, Rutgers