October 18, 2021

Buckeyes Unveil 2022 Schedule


2022 Schedule | 2022 Schedule (PDF)

COLUMBUS, Ohio – After an unusual 2021 season, the Ohio State baseball team will be back to a typical 53-game schedule in 2022, and the Buckeyes couldn’t be more excited. The schedule also includes a 24-game conference slate, four series at home and four on the road, as well as the return of the Big Ten Tournament at the end of May.

The season opens at a familiar spot for the Buckeyes, the Snowbird Classic in Port Charlotte, Fla., on Feb. 18-20. This year’s opponents will be BYU and Indiana State. Following a trip to Texas State at the end of February, the Buckeyes will head to Fayetteville, N.C., for the Armed Forces Invitational against Campbell, Pitt and Army at the beginning of March.

Two more road trips to West Virginia and UNC-Wilmington will lead into the home opener against Wright State on a warm March 22 evening at Nick Swisher Field at Bill Davis Stadium.

The Big Ten season begins at the end of March with a road trip to Purdue. The Buckeyes will also make conference road trips to Maryland (April 15-17), Michigan (April 22-24) and Northwestern (May 6-8). The home portion of the Big Ten schedule starts with Nebraska on April 1-3 and will also include Michigan State (April 8-10), Rutgers (April 29-May 1) and Penn State (May 13-15). The Buckeyes open weekend comes at the end of the regular season where they will host USC-Upstate in a non-conference series on May 19-21.

Other midweek non-conference matchups at home include Toledo, Youngstown State, Marshall, Campbell and Cincinnati. The Buckeyes have two non-conference road games this season. The first is at Dayton and that game will played at Day Air Ballpark, home of the Dayton Dragons, on April 12. The second is at Kent State on May 4.

The Big Ten Tournament will be held once again at TD Ameritrade Stadium in Omaha, Neb., from May 25-29. The Buckeyes have won 10 Big Ten Tournament titles and are the defending champions as they were the last winners of the event in 2019. The tournament was cancelled in 2020 and not held in 2021.