January 24, 2020

Buckeyes Start 2020 with First Team Practice


Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | 2020 Roster | 2020 Schedule | Video Interviews

COLUMBUS, Ohio The 137th season of Ohio State baseball started with the Buckeyes’ first full team practice Friday afternoon. The session was the first of 18 before the Buckeyes travel to the Sunshine State to open the season Feb. 14 in Port Charlotte.

“Everything rises and falls on leadership.”

That was the quote of the day as 10th-year head coach Greg Beals’ Buckeyes hit the turf at Woody Hayes Athletic Center. Big Ten Tournament champions and NCAA Nashville Regional participants a season ago, the Buckeyes return 20 letterwinners, including six starting position players and all three weekend starters, to go along with 15 newcomers.

Beals designed a schedule to prepare the Buckeyes for the postseason. Ohio State is set to play 24 home games at Nick Swisher Field at Bill Davis Stadium while a total of 20 games against eight NCAA Tournament teams from a season ago. The Buckeyes will play their first 14 games on the road starting with the Snowbird Classic in Port Charlotte, Fla., Feb. 14-16 before opening their home slate against Liberty March 13-15.