June 11, 2022

Two Earn All-American First Team Honors to Conclude Men’s Competition



COLUMBUS, Ohio – The Ohio State track and field team wrapped up men’s competition at the NCAA Championships on Friday, while also beginning the heptathlon. Kentre Patterson and Tyler Johnson both earned a spot on the All-American First Team by scoring points for the Buckeyes. Alexus Pyles is sixth overall in the heptathlon after competing in the first four events.


  • Shaun Miller Jr. finished ninth in the high jump finals by clearing 2.15m on his first attempt.
  • In the discus throw, Tanner Watson finished 12th overall with a best throw of 57.53m.


  • Kentre Patterson finished sixth in the 110m hurdles (13.46) to earn three points for the Buckeyes. Just 0.01 seconds separated fourth through sixth place.
  • Tyler Johnson finished eighth in the 400m (45.83) to earn a point for Ohio State.
  • Eric Harrison was ninth in the 200m (20.71).


  • Alexus Pyles posted a personal-best time of 13.07 in the 100m hurdles to win the event to begin the heptathlon. Her time earned her 1,114 points.
  • Pyles cleared 1.72m on her second attempt in the high jump to finish eighth overall. Her 879 points brought her total to 1,993, which was good for second place.
  • Pyles had an outdoor personal-best throw of 10.43m in the shot put. She sat at eighth after the first three events with 2,551 points.
  • Pyles finished sixth in the 200m (24.21) to earn 961 points, bringing her four-event total to 3,512. She currently sits in sixth place after the first four events.


  • First Team: Hayden Tobias (shot put), Kentre Patterson (110m hurdles), Tyler Johnson (400m)
  • Second Team: Eric Harrison (100m), Robby Oswald (pole vault), 4×100 relay (Kainnan Ramsey, Harrison, Adrian Curry, Praise Olatoke), 4×400 relay (Zidane Brown, Donnie James, Praise Olatoke, Tyler Johnson), Shaun Miller Jr. (high jump), Tanner Watson (discus), Eric Harrison (200m)


The Buckeye women wrap up the season on Saturday, beginning at 1:30 p.m. ET (10:30 a.m. PT) with the heptathlon long jump.