COLUMBUS, Ohio – Steve Arlin, the great Ohio State pitcher of the 1960s who led the Buckeyes to two College World Series and to the 1966 CWS championship, has been named to the College World Series Legends Team as part of the commemoration of the final Series in Omaha’s Johnny Rosenblatt Stadium. The NCAA and College World Series, Inc., announced the official “Legends” team.

As part of the commemoration of the final Series in Omaha’s Johnny Rosenblatt Stadium, the NCAA and College World Series, Inc., have announced the official College World Series Legends Team.

The 28 members of the Legends Team, pared down from an original list of 95 nominees, were selected after more than 100,000 votes were cast by college baseball fans, college baseball writers and Division I head baseball coaches. The members of the Legends Team are former student-athletes and coaches who had the best CWS performances throughout the 60 years the event has been played at Rosenblatt Stadium

Voting for the team was based solely on the former student-athletes’ performance when they were competing in the NCAA College World Series, and not for any regular season or post-collegiate performances.

Arlin’s CWS efforts were nothing short of spectacular. In the 1965 CWS with Ohio State facing elimination against Washington State, Arlin struck out a CWS-record 20 batters in a 15-inning, 1-0 victory. The next year, the Buckeyes won the national championship with Arlin on the mound in five of the team’s six games and twice beating top-seeded Southern California. He closed out the championship game win over Oklahoma State and was named Most Outstanding Player of the series.

In two CWS appearances, Arlin pitched 47.0 innings, allowed just 16 hits and compiled a 0.96 ERA. His five hits allowed and five appearances in 1966 are CWS records. His 29 strikeouts and 11 hits allowed in 1965 rank third in CWS history.

Arlin was 24-3 in two seasons at Ohio State with no fewer than six Ohio State career records at the conclusion of his career, including winning pct. (.889), strikeouts (294), ERA (2.01), fewest hits (150) and fewest runs (70).

In 1996, Arlin was chosen one of two pitchers on the All-Time College World Series Team. He was enshrined into the College Baseball Hall of Fame in 2008, the same year his No. 22 jersey was retired at Ohio State. He was inducted into Ohio State’s Athletics Hall of Fame in 1978.

The 28 CWS Legends Team members, a group that includes leading vote-getter Will Clark as well as Dave Winfield and Nomar Garciaparra, will be invited to attend the final College World Series at Rosenblatt Stadium as guests of the NCAA. The members will be formally honored on-field during the CWS Opening Ceremonies on June 18, and invited to attend the first day of CWS competition on June 19.

Mock baseball cards of each member featuring their collegiate photos are posted here.