June 29, 2019

Five Buckeyes Garner CRCA Pocock All-America Honors



Follow the Buckeyes on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram

2018-19 Schedule| 2018 Roster


COLUMBUS, Ohio – Five members of the Ohio State rowing team were named Pocock All-America winners for the 2019 season, the Collegiate Rowing Coaches Association (CRCA) announced on Thursday. Ida Kruse and Lexie Nothdurft garnered first team accolades and Anjali Fernandes and Leonie Heuer received second team recognition. Ida Petersen received honorable mention.

All five recipients are members of the First Varsity Eight boat that finished second at the 2019 Big Ten Championships and sixth at the NCAA Championships.

Kruse, from Munster, Germany, finishes her Buckeye career with three consecutive years earning first team distinction. She began her career with the Second Varsity Eight but finished as a member of the First Varsity Eight. She earned second team All-Big Ten honors after the conference championships. Kruse recently raced with the Germany Women’s Four at the 2019 World Rowing Cup II, finishing second in the B Final.

Nothdurft has been rowing with the 1V8 in her first two seasons at Ohio State. The 2018 Big Ten Freshman of the Year earned first team all-conference honors and is also an Ohio State Scholar-Athlete, Academic All-Big Ten honoree and CRCA National Scholar-Athlete.

Fernandes is one of just nine coxswains who received the distinction. The Perrysburg, Ohio native has also picked up Ohio State Scholar-Athlete, Academic All-Big Ten and CRCA National Scholar-Athlete recognition this season.

Heuer picks up her first All-America nod after completing her second season at Ohio State. Heuer, who was also named second team All-Big Ten, is an Ohio State Scholar-Athlete, Academic All-Big Ten Honoree, and most recently named CRCA National Scholar-Athlete.

The honorable mention nod is the first award for rising junior Ida Petersen. She has been a member of the 1V8 for the last two seasons and is an Ohio State Scholar-Athlete, Academic All-Big Ten Honoree, and a CRCA National Scholar-Athlete.