March 8, 2022

Crawford, Fielding Lead the Buckeyes on Day 2 of Zone Championships


Related Links: Zone C Qualified Divers | Live Results | Women’s Roster | Men’s Roster


COLUMBUS, Ohio – The Buckeyes qualified four divers for the 2022 NCAA Championships on Tuesday at the Zone C Championships in Mackenzie Crawford, Clay Chaplin, Jake Fielding and Lyle Yost. Crawford earned her second qualifying dive of the meet on the 1-meter while the men’s trio of Chaplin, Fielding and Yost earned their second qualifying dives on the 3-meter.

The top 10 finishers in the women’s 3 meter and top nine in men’s 1-meter advance to the NCAA championships.

Jake Fielding led the Buckeyes with a third-place finish on the 1-meter board and a final score of 719.20. Yost took seventh with 715.50 points to earn his second qualifying finish of the zone championships. Chaplin, who finished with a final score of 643.50 to take 12th overall, also qualified on the 1-meter. Though he did not finish in the top nine, he qualified for NCAAs as he has already qualified in the 3-meter dive and finished in the top 12 of the event. Joey Canova and Mike Parker also dove in the finals for the Buckeyes.

Crawford earned her second NCAA qualification of the meet with a sixth-place finish on the 3-meter board and a final score of 628.25. She was the only Buckeye who competed in the final round of the event. Jackie Brenn and Amanda Ling also competed in the 3-meter dive for Ohio State.

2022Ohio State NCAA Qualifiers – Diving


Mackenzie Crawford – 1-meter, 3-meter


Clay Chaplin – 1-meter, 3-meter

Jake Fielding – 1-meter, 3-meter

Jacob Siler – 3-meter

Lyle Yost – 1-meter, 3-meter

Up Next

The Zone C Championships wrap up tomorrow, March 9.  Both the men and women will compete on platform with the women starting at 11 a.m. and the men at 1 p.m. The nine women and 11 men can qualify from the zone for the NCAA Championships.