December 15, 2021

Olave & Munford First-Team AFCA All-Americans


COLUMBUS Two more Ohio State Buckeyes have earned first-team All-America recognition this week: WR Chris Olave and OL Thayer Munford. The two seniors, both of whom are team captains, were honored on the prestigious American Football Coaches Association team and they join WR Garrett Wilson, OT Nicholas Petit-Frere and K Noah Ruggles as first-team All-American Buckeyes in 2021.

Olave, from San Ysidro, Calif., and Mission Hills H.S., set the Ohio State career record for receiving touchdowns with 35 this season. The two-time first-team all-Big Ten Conference performer had personal bests in receptions (65), yards (936) and touchdowns (13).

Munford, from Cincinnati and powerful La Salle H.S., and who spent his senior season at Massillon Washington, was a foundation on the offensive line for the best offense in the nation this year. Ohio State ranks No. 1 nationally in total offense (551.4 yards per game) and scoring offense (45.5 ppg), and No. 5 in passing offense (364.9 ypg). Munford has started 44 games in his career and played in 56 over his career.

Ohio State had a total of 13 players honored as an All-American performer this year, including second- and third-team players and five freshmen All-Americans.

All Ohio State All-American Honors – 2021

First Team

  • WR Chris Olave – AFCA
  • OL Thayer Munford – AFCA
  • OT Nicholas Petit-Frere – FWAA, CBS Sports
  • WR Garrett Wilson – FWAA, The Athletic
  • K Noah Ruggles – ESPN

Second Team

  • WR Garrett Wilson – AP, Pro Football Network
  • OL Nicholas Petit-Frere – AP, The Athletic, Walter Camp
  • WR Chris Olave – AP, Walter Camp, FWAA, CBS Sports, Pro Football Network,
  • OL Thayer Munford – AP, CBS Sports
  • K Noah Ruggles – AP, Walter Camp, AFCA, CBS Sports
  • WR Jaxon Smith-Njigba – The Sporting News, Pro Football Network
  • DT Haskell Garrett – AP

Third Team

  • QB C.J. Stroud – AP
  • WR Jaxon Smith-Njigba – AP
  • OT Dawand Jones – Pro Football Network

Freshmen All-Americans

  • QB C.J. Stroud – The Athletic
  • CB Denzel Burke – ESPN, The Athletic, 247Sports
  • RB TreVeyon Henderson – ESPN, The Athletic, 247Sports, Pro Football Focus
  • DT Tyleik Williams – ESPN, 247Sports, Pro Football Focus
  • KOR Emeka Egbuka – Pro Football Focus

Key – AP – Associated Press; AFCA – American Football Coaches Association; FWAA – Football Writers Association of America