December 11, 2019

Chase Young is the 2019 Ted Hendricks Award Winner


COLUMBUS, Ohio – Ohio State’s Chase Young added another award to his resume on Wednesday when he was named the 2019 recipient of the Ted Hendricks Award, which has gone to the nation’s top defensive end since 2002. He is Ohio State’s first-ever recipient and just the fourth from a Big Ten school. Young received the largest percentage of votes by the Hendricks Award selection committee in its history (more than 90 percent).

Young’s 2019 season accolades now include:

  • Big Ten Nagurski-Woodson Defensive Player of the Year
  • Big Ten Smith-Brown Defensive Lineman of the Year
  • Chicago Tribune Silver Football Award winner
  • First Team All-Big Ten
  • Ted Hendricks Award winner
  • Nagurski Trophy winner
  • Heisman Trophy finalist
  • Maxwell and Bednarik Award finalist

A native of Upper Marlboro, Md., Young led the Buckeyes to their third consecutive Big Ten Conference championship in 2019 (and 38th overall) with one of the most dominant seasons ever by a defensive player. Young leads the nation is sacks (16.5), sacks per game (1.50), sack yards (117) and tackles-for-loss per game (1.91). His 21.0 total TFLs ranks fourth while is 129 total TFL yards and six forced fumbles are second.

In two of the Buckeyes’ biggest wins of the year – vs. Wisconsin on Oct. 26 and Penn State on Nov. 23 – Young totaled 7.0 sacks, 9.0 tackles-for-loss, four forced fumbles and 15 total tackles. Despite not registering a sack in last Saturday’s Big Ten Championship Game vs. Wisconsin, Young still finished with six tackles and 1.5 tackles-for-loss in a 34-21 win.