February 13, 2022

Buckeyes Wrap Up Competition at Ohio State Winter Invitational


Related Links: Day 3 Results | Women’s Roster | Men’s Roster


COLUMBUS, Ohio – The Buckeye swim team finished the 2022 Ohio State Winter Invitational on a high note with 19 swimmers achieving season or career-best times on Sunday at the McCorkle Aquatic Pavilion. Over three days of racing, the student-athletes earned their best finishes of the season with a total of nine swimmers meeting NCAA B cuts.

Event Wins

Men’s 1650 Free – Matthew Magness (15:26.84)

Men’s 200 Back – Brandon Day (1:45.07)

Women’s 100 Free – Mairin O’Brien (50.37)

Men’s 100 Free – Daniel Baltes (43.94)

Women’s 200 Breast – Leah Baker (2:14.85)

Men’s 200 Breast – Ian Mikesell (1:58.94)

Women’s 200 Fly – Sarah Turchanik (2:00.92)

Men’s 200 Fly – Ryan Trichler (1:47.22)

Men’s 400 Free Relay – Ohio State A (3:02.26)

Morning Session

The Buckeyes started off the day with seven personal-best swims. Brandon Day swam a 1:46.48 in the 200 backstroke prelims to set a personal record. In the 100 freestyle, Daniel Baltes (44.25) and Jay Johnson (44.42) earned their fastest career finishes while Ian Mikesell and Nathan Holty earned personal-best times of 1:59.16 and 1:59.68, respectively, in the 200 breaststroke. Luke Paxton (1:47.87) and Ryan Trichler (1:51.09) closed out the session in the 200 butterfly with personal bests.

Ohio State finished the first session of the day with 15 student-athletes reaching at least season-best finishes.

Final Session

Mia Lachey led the way in the first race of the finals, finishing in a career-best time of 17:15.83 in the 1650 freestyle. Claire Pophal also raced the mile, finishing in a time of 17:41.24. In the men’s race, Matthew Magness earned a career-best time of 15:26.84.

Five Buckeyes raced in the 200 backstroke finals, with Brandon Day earning a win in the men’s race. He improved his personal-best time set in the prelims with a 1:45.07 finish for the Buckeyes. Tim Kalin also set a career-best in a time of 1:50.12. In his second race of the day, RJ Kondalski beat his season-best time in 1:45.64. Owen Conley (1:46.42) also bested his season best for the second time in the day. For the women, Brynna Wolfe finished in a time of 2:07.40.

Mairin O’Brien led the way for the Buckeye women in the 100 freestyle, improving on her morning swim to finish in a season-best time of 50.37. In second for Ohio State was Amanda Palutsis, who also bested her preliminary performance in a time of 50.48. Makenzie Dewitt finished in a time of 51.71 for fourth.

In the men’s 100 free finals, Daniel Baltes won in a career-best time of 43.94. Jay Johnson (44.16) and Josh Bogniard (45.34) finished two-three in personal-best times.

Finishing one-two-three in the 200 breaststroke was Ohio State’s Ian Mikesell (1:58.94), Nathan Holty (1:59.46) and Michael Cooper (2:00.60). Both Mikesell and Holty bested their person records set in the prelims while Cooper tied his season-best performance. Leah Baker won the 200 breaststroke final with a career-best time of 2:14.85 for the women.

Ohio State’s men and women took first and second in the 200 butterfly. Sarah Turchanik led the women with a 2:00.92 finish for a season-best swim. Meredith Moellering finished in 2:01.75. Ryan Trichler won the men’s race in a time of 1:47.22 to best his career record in the event. Luke Paxton raced to a 1:47.93 finish.

Ohio State men’s 400 freestyle relay closed out the day, racing a 3:02.26 in the event finals.

Up Next

Conference championship season has officially arrived. The Buckeye women make the trip to Madison, Wisc. for the 2022 Big Ten Swimming and Diving Championships on Feb. 16-19. The men’s conference championship is set for Feb. 23-26 at Purdue.