July 12, 2022

Title IX: Rowing Makes a Splash with Three Straight NCAA Titles


COLUMBUS, Ohio – The Ohio State rowing program is one of the most recent women’s teams added to the university’s varsity athletics department, but it didn’t take long for the program to make a splash on a national scale.

The team first started competing on the nearby Scioto River for the 1995-96 NCAA rowing season. The Buckeyes made their first appearance at the NCAA Championships in 2000 and won their first of 10 Big Ten championships in 2002.

The program posted 10-consecutive Top 10 finishes in the country from 2000-09 before winning three-consecutive NCAA Championships from 2013-15, followed by a second-place finish in 2016.

Seven Ohio State boats have won individual titles as well, the first coming in 2012 when the 1v4 crossed the finish line to win the national title in that race. That same boat repeated in 2013 and was joined that year by the 2V8, which then posted back-t0-back national titles with a win in 2014. The 1v8 won three-consecutive championships from 2014-16.

In all, the Buckeyes have finished among the Top 10 at the NCAA Championships a total of 20 times, including an eighth-place finish in 2022 after winning the program’s 10th Big Ten title last May.

No other team in the country as been able to match Ohio State’s three-consecutive NCAA titles since the first championship in 1997.