May 28, 2020

McMahon, Fernandes Awarded Big Ten Postgraduate Scholarships


COLUMBUS, OhioAmari McMahon and Anjali Fernandes, members of the football and rowing teams, respectively, were announced today as Ohio State’s recipients of the 2020 Big Ten postgraduate scholarships, the conference office announced. One male and one female student-athlete from each Big Ten institution who plan to continue their education at a graduate degree program were awarded a $7,500 scholarship, based primarily on academic achievements.

This year’s recipients span 18 different sports and will continue their education in a variety of different disciplines, including accountancy, biomedical engineering, business, chemical and biological engineering, chemistry, dentistry, economics, law, optometry and medicine.

A Dublin, Ohio native, McMahon joined the Buckeyes in 2017 and recently graduated with his degree in biology. He plans to attend Ohio State’s College of Dentistry in the fall. A three-time OSU Scholar-Athlete and Academic All-Big Ten honoree, McMahon was also a Big Ten Distinguished Scholar in the 2018-19 academic year for having a grade-point average of 3.7 or better. In addition to the Big Ten’s Postgraduate Scholarship, McMahon also received Ohio State’s Corwin A. Fergus Award, which is a $5,000 scholarship that is renewable for up to three years.

On the field, McMahon was part of three Big Ten championships teams as the Buckeyes had a combined record of 38-4 since the start of 2017. The Buckeye teams that he played on won the 2017 Cotton Bowl, 2019 Rose Bowl, earned three pairs of gold pants and appeared in last season’s College Football Playoffs.

Fernandes, a Perrysburg, Ohio, native, is a four-time Ohio State Scholar Athlete, a two-time Academic All-Big Ten honoree and a 2019 Big Ten Distinguished Scholar. As the coxswain for the Buckeyes’ 1V8, she helped the boat to a second-place finish at the 2019 Big Ten Championships and a sixth-place finish at the 2019 NCAA Championships. The two years prior, in 2017 and 2018, the Buckeyes won the Big Ten team title. Fernandes was also a 2018 Women’s Elite 4+ Club National Champion in 2018.

In addition to several Big Ten and Ohio State academic awards, she also was named a 2019 Collegiate Rowing Coaches Association Scholar Athlete and her efforts on the water earned her CRCA Pocock Second Team All-America recognition. In 2018, she was a Wexner Medical Center Student Research Intern worked with Dr. Alexa Meara studying patient numeracy and its effects on the severity of systematic lupus erythematosus.

Fernandez received two other awards this spring: the Varsity “O” Alumni Society Postgraduate Scholarship and the Leann Grimes-Davidge Award. She graduated earlier this month his her degree in English – literature with a minor in biology.

The complete list of 2020 Big Ten Postgraduate Scholarship recipients can be found below:

Michael Paradise, Men’s Gymnastics
Lauren Smitherman, Women’s Soccer

Sean Caulfield, Men’s Soccer
Michelle McKamey, Women’s Tennis

Claire Graves, Women’s Soccer
Jason Kerst, Men’s Tennis

Johannes Bergmann, Men’s Soccer
Darby Moore, Women’s Soccer

Thomas Cope, Men’s Swimming & Diving
Erika Yasuda, Women’s Rowing

Michigan State
Scott Piper, Men’s Swimming & Diving
Karrigan Smith, Women’s Cross Country/Track & Field

Jacob Herbers, Football and Baseball
Zetta Mason, Women’s Cross Country/Track & Field

Allison Lindroth, Volleyball
Charles Maxwell, Baseball

Grace Mitchell, Women’s Basketball
Luke Siedhoff, Men’s Track & Field

Ohio State
Anjali Fernandes, Women’s Rowing
Amari McMahon, Football

Penn State
Mason Nadeau, Baseball
Jade Rowland, Women’s Fencing

Susan Hubbard, Women’s Cross Country/Track & Field
Dylan Lydy, Wrestling

Rebecca Chanin, Women’s Rowing
Kieran Mullins, Men’s Lacrosse

Eric Geunes, Men’s Swimming & Diving
Heather Rudnicki, Softball