December 22, 2021

Henderson, Stroud Finalists for National Freshman of the Year Award


COLUMBUS, OhioRunning back TreVeyon Henderson and quarterback C.J. Stroud are among five finalists for the fourth annual Shaun Alexander Freshman of the Year Award. The award will be presented at the Maxwell Football Club Awards Gala in January. Ohio State is the only school with multiple finalists.

Stroud and Henderson are joined by three other finalists: Brock Bowers, a tight end at Georgia; Xavier Worthy, a wide receiver at Texas and Braelon Allen, a running back at Wisconsin. Past winners of the Shaun Alexander Freshman of the Year award include Trevor Lawrence (Clemson, 2018), Kenneth Gainwell (Memphis, 2019)) and Will Anderson Jr. (Alabama, 2020).

A Heisman Trophy finalist, Stroud threw for 3,862 yards and 38 touchdown as a first-year starter in 2021. He ranks in the top 10 nationally in eight major statistical categories, including passer efficiency (second, 182.2), yards per game (fourth, 351.1), touchdown passes (fifth, 38) and completion percentage (sixth, 70.9).

Stroud, a redshirt freshman from Rancho Cucamonga, Calif., became the Big Ten’s first player to ever win the Graham-George Offensive Player of the Year, the Griese-Brees Quarterback of the Year and the Thompson-Randle El Freshman of the Year in the same season.

Henderson, a true freshman from Hopewell, Va., rushed for 1,165 yards and scored a school freshman-record 19 touchdowns. Against Tulsa on Sept. 18, he broke Archie Griffin’s 49-year-old single game freshman rushing record when he finished with 270 yards on 23 carries and three touchdowns.

Henderson scored at least one touchdown in 10 of 12 games and was tied for seventh nationally with 19 total TDs. In addition to his 1,165 rushing yards – which is the third-most among true freshman running backs in school history – he added 23 receptions for 285 yards and four touchdowns.