June 13, 2019

Eight Home Matches Scheduled for Covelli Center Inaugural Season


Facebook, Twitter and Instagram

COLUMBUS, Ohio – The Covelli Center will host eight wrestling matches during the 2019-20 season, its first as the primary competition home of Ohio State wrestling. Stanford University is set to christen the new mat, coming to town for a Nov. 10 dual.

Additional non-conference opponents include Arizona State (Jan. 3, 4 or 5), Cornell (Dec. 1) and Virginia Tech (Nov. 15, 16 or 17) – all of which finished inside the top-12 at the 2019 NCAA Championships.

The Buckeyes welcome in a quartet of Big Ten foes in Illinois, Maryland, Northwestern and Rutgers. Dates and match times for the B1G contests will be announced by the conference office at a later date.

Ohio State Buckeyes

A total of 13 returning All-Americans are expected to compete inside the Covelli Center with four defending national champions and six NCAA finalists.

Fans wishing to lock in their seat for the ’19-20 campaign can do so very soon. All seating will be reserved and season tickets start at $77 with discounts available for youth (2-17 years old), senior citizens, and Ohio State faculty and staff. Check out the season ticket timeline below:

🗓 June 13 | Season ticket renewal invoices are distributed

🗓 June 18 | New season tickets go on sale at 10 a.m. ET

🗓 July 23 | Covelli Center/Jennings Wrestling Facility Open House (free and open to the public)

🗓 July 24 | Season ticket online seat selection process begins

🗓 Late August/early September | Group and single-match tickets go on sale following the release of Big Ten match dates

Away from Columbus, the Buckeyes will travel to five duals, the Michigan State Open and the Cliff Keen Las Vegas Invitational. Road matches are set for Iowa, Minnesota, Nebraska, Penn State and Wisconsin.

Postseason action sends Ohio State to Piscataway, N.J., March 7-8 for the Big Ten Championships hosted at the Rutgers Athletic Center (‘The RAC’).  Two weeks later, U.S. Bank Stadium (Minneapolis, Minn.) will be the site for the NCAA Wrestling Championships from March 19-21.