October 29, 2022

Buckeyes Record Top Finishes at Ohio State Open



COLUMBUS, Ohio – The Ohio State fencing program hosted the OSU Open Saturday in French Field House. In all, 24 Buckeyes recorded Top 8 finishes, with 17 reaching at least the semifinals. Montserrat Viveros (women’s epee), Dariia Myronius (women’s foil), Roscoe Swartz (men’s sabre) and Paul Veltrup (men’s epee) all won gold. For the women, Yeva Mazur (epee), Alina Lee (foil) and Julieta Toledo (sabre) were silver medalists, along with Diego Cervantes (foil) on the men’s side.

Sunday, Ohio State will host the OSU Duals. The day includes six rounds, starting at 8:30 a.m. Admission and parking are free. The full schedule, along with results throughout the day, can be found HERE. A live stream can be accessed from the fencing home page on OhioStateBuckeyes.com.

Women’s Epee
For the second year in a row Buckeyes Montserrat Viveros and Yeva Mazur met in the final, but Viveros took first at this season’s event, defeating Mazur in the final, 15-14.
1. Montserrat Viveros
2. Yeva Mazur
5. Julia Semikin
9. Talia Weiss
10. Lucy Whittemore
21. Cara Santos

Women’s Foil
Ohio State fencers made up the final four, with Buckeye newcomer Dariia Myroniuk ending as the women’s foil champion. She defeated fellow Buckeye Alina Lee in the final, 15-8. Lee topped Miranda Freedman, 15-14, in one semifinal, with Myroniuk topping Claire Teresa Galavotti in the other, 15-10.

1. Dariia Myroniuk
2. Alina Lee
3t. Miranda Freedman
3t. Claire Teresa Galavotti
29. Anna Heiser
32. Mika Guillen
40. Chandini Antal

Women’s Sabre
The women’s sabre final four included three Buckeyes. Julieta Toledo defeated Evie Bustamante, 15-10, to advance to the final, where she was clipped by a fencer from SCAD, 15-13. Eleonore Perrier dropped her semifinal, 15-9.

2. Julieta Toledo
3t. Eleonore Perrier
3t. Evie Bustamante
5. Hamsika Arnipalli
6, Katherine Larimer
18. Ariel Gluck

Men’s Sabre
Buckeyes made up three of the four semifinalists. Roscoe Swartz defeated Jack Price in the semifinals, 15-7, and then won by the same score in the championship bout. Avin Rai also reached the final four.

1. Roscoe Swartz
3t. Jack Price
3t. Avin Rai
6. Nolan Williams
7. Aaron Buergenthal
9. Vincent Haney
11. Kelly Liu
16. Stephen Chou
18. Hank Bauer

Men’s Epee
Paul Veltrup was the gold medalist in men’s epee, winning 12-11 in the championship match. Veltrup defeated fellow Buckeye Gabriel Feinberg in the semifinals, 15-13, and Buckeye Nowell Gibson was also a semifinalist.

1. Paul Veltrup
3t. Nowell Gibson
3t. Gabriel Feinberg
7. Henry Lange
10. Matthew Buelau
12. Maxwell Rodney
19. Clark Kokenge
21. Miles Weiss
28. Kinley Lavenstein
43. Anitya Kumar

Men’s Foil
Diego Cervantes finished as the runner-up, falling to a SCAD fencer in the final. Buckeye Justin Vogler advancedto the semifinals, where he lost to the eventual champion, 15-10.

2. Diego Cervantes
3t. Justin Vogler
5. Isaac Ariza
9. Edriss Ndiaye
11. Lorenzo Mion
12t. Wangjie Li
15. Ilya Ayupov
18. Advaith Prasanna
24. James Flanagan
31. Craig Upton