September 29, 2022

Buckeyes Ready For Intrasquad And Alumni Meets


COLUMBUS, Ohio— Ohio State swimming and diving is back in action this weekend, hosting the annual Scarlet v. Gray Intrasquad meet on Friday, Sept. 30 at 5:30 p.m. and the Alumni Meet at 10:00 a.m. on Saturday, Oct. 1. Both meets will be held at the McCorkle Aquatic Pavilion and are open to the public.

On Friday, the Buckeyes will be split into scarlet and gray teams and will compete against each other.

On Saturday, the Buckeyes will celebrate the 60th anniversary of the men’s swimming and diving team winning the 1962 national championship and the 40th anniversary of the women winning the Big Ten Championships, with members of both teams in attendance. Members of the 1962 team will also be recognized on the field at Saturday’s football game versus Rutgers.

Under the direction of Hall of Fame head coach Mike Peppe, the Buckeyes went undefeated during the 1961-62 regular season (8-0) and placed third at the Big Ten Championships, before going on to win the national championship. It was the 11th NCAA Championship title in program history. The Buckeyes won seven events; the 100 back, 200 fly, 200 back, 200 IM, 400 medley relay, 1-meter dive and 3-meter dive. The team produced 12 All-Americans (Juan Botella, Allan Cartwright, Nate Clark, Fritz Fisher, Bill Glueck, Tom Kovacs, Marty Mull, Orrin Nordstrom, John Plain, L.B. Scharfer, Lou Vitucci, Artie Wolfe), two Olympians (Botella, Vitucci) and four Ohio State Athletics Hall of Famers (Mull, Schaefer, Vitucci, Wolfe).

The 1982 women’s swimming and diving team’s Big Ten Championship was the first of five straight Big Ten titles for the Buckeyes. OSU was led by Hall of Fame head coach Jim Montrella and Hall of Fame diving coach Vince Panzano. The Buckeyes clinched eight event wins at the 1982 Big Ten Championships, placing first in the 50 free, 50 back, 100 back, 200 medley relay, 400 free relay, 800 free relay, 1-meter dive and 3-meter dive. Thirteen Buckeyes (Marci Ballard, Laura Fox, Sally Hawk, Leslie Lay, Joni Lee, Cathy McGovern, Jody Ochab, Terri Paumier, Nancy Pearson, Amanda Glenner, Sheri Hornstein, Kelly McCormick, Debbie Rush) earned All-American honors and Ballard, McCormick and Pearson have all been inducted into the Ohio State Athletics Hall of Fame.