March 23, 2023

Buckeyes Earn Academic All-Big Ten Accoldes


COLUMBUS, Ohio — Eighteen members of the Ohio State men’s hockey team have earned a spot on the Academic All-Big Ten team, the Big Ten Conference announced Thursday.

Gustaf Westlund is now a four-time Academic All-Big Ten selection, while Jaedon Leslie, Dalton Messina, CJ Regula Tate Singleton and Ryan Snowden are three-time honorees. Matt Cassidy, Mark Cheremeta, Joe Dunlap, Michael Gildon, Patrick Guzzo, Evan McIntyre and Dominic Vidolie are all now two-time award winners. Jakub Dobes, Reilly Herbst, Cole McWard and Jake Wise received the honor for the first time.

To be eligible for Academic All-Big Ten selection, students must be on a varsity team (as verified by being on the official squad list as of March 1 for winter sports), have been enrolled full time at the institution for a minimum of 12 months and carry a cumulative grade-point average of 3.0 or higher.

The Buckeyes earned an at-large spot into the NCAA Championship and will begin play vs. Harvard at 2 p.m. Friday in the first round of the Bridgeport Regional. The game will be televised by ESPNU, streamed on WatchESPN and on Ohio State Radio.

Ohio State Buckeyes