2018-19 Points of Pride

2018-19 Points of Pride

4 CoSIDA Academic All-Americans

Jordan Fuller, Football (First Team)

Carmen Grande, Women’s Basketball (Third Team)

Joey McKenna, Wrestling (Second Team

Kelsey Nolan, Field Hockey (Third Team)


7 CoSIDA Academic All-District selections

Jordan Fuller, FB First Team

Carmen Grande, WBB First Team

Carly Santoro, WBB-Second Team

Morgan Ray, SB-First Team

Kallie Boren, SB-First Team

Joey McKenna, WRE-First Team

Kelsey Nolan, FH-First Team


131 Distinguished Scholars

461 Total Academic All-Big Ten

106 Fall

106 Winter

249 Spring/At Large-Ohio State Record

674 Scholar Athletes


Big Ten Medal of Honor

Karrington Winters-Women’s Track and Field

Mason Jobst-Men’s Hockey


2 Team National Champions

Men’s Tennis ITA Indoor

Synchronized Swimming


1 Team National Runner-Up



9 Individual National Champions

Synchronized Swimming-Nikki Dzurko-U.S. Collegiate Solo National Champion

Synchronized Swimming-Nikki Dzurko & Laila Huric-U.S. Collegiate Duet National Champions

Synchronized Swimming-Wenjing Deng, Rachel Jager & Stephanie Thielemann-U.S. Collegiate Trio National Champions

Synchronized Swimming-Nikki Dzurko, Wenjing Deng, Laila Huric, Rachel Jager, Alex Meredith Le-Roux, Cassie Neeley, Stephanie Thielemann, Camryn Carrasco-U.S. Collegiate Team Routine National Champions

Open Air Pistol Team-(Samuel Gens, Shrenik Jain, Con Marrinan, Anthony McCollum)-National Champions

Oliver Shindler-NCAA Fencing Men’s Epee National Champion

Sade Olatoye-NCAA Women’s Indoor Track & Field National Champion-Weight Throw

Julia Rizk-NCAA Women’s Indoor Track & Field National Champion-Mile Run

Alec Yoder-NCAA Men’s Gymnastics-Pommel Horse


3 Individual National Runners-Up

Joey McKenna-Wrestling 141lbs

Micah Jordan-Wrestling 149lbs

Kollin Moore-Wrestling 197lbs


119 All-Americans


Ohio State Athletes of the Year

Dwayne Haskins-FB

Sade Olatoye-T&F


2 Major Award Winners

Brendon Kearney-Men’s Hockey-Derek Hines Unsung Hero Award

Dwayne Haskins—Football-Chicago Tribune Silver Football


1 National Coach of the Year

Holly Vargo-Brown-Synchronized Swimming, U.S. Collegiate Coach of the Year


7 Conference Regular-Season Team Championships

Fencing-Midwest Fencing Conference

Football-Big Ten

Women’s Indoor Track & Field

Men’s Hockey-Big Ten

Men’s Tennis-Big Ten

Women’s Golf-Big Ten

Women’s Outdoor Track & Field-Big Ten


2 Conference Tournament Team Championships

Men’s Tennis-Big Ten

Baseball-Big Ten


25 Individual Conference Champions

Alexanne Verret-Midwest Fencing Conference Champion-Women’s Epee

Camilla Rivano-Midwest Fencing Conference Champion-Women’s Foil

Sarah Merza-Midwest Fencing Conference Champion-Women’s Sabre

Nathan Wriedt-Midwest Fencing Conference Champion-Men’s Foil

Benjamin Marcus-Midwest Fencing Conference Champion-Men’s Sabre

Niki Schroeder-Big Ten Women’s Golf Co-Medalist

Alex Yoder-Big Ten Men’s Gymnastics Pommel Horse Champion

Divya Batchu, Kendell Massier, Julia Miklasevich, Ally Hatton, Maddie Frendberg-Big Ten Rowing First Varsity 4 Champion

Hellen Sudhoff, Olivia Kwiecinski, Lena Harper, Willow Wahlers, Kayla Kuntzman-Big Ten Rowing Third Varsity 4 Champion

Emma Walker, Jennie Hallsworth, Joan Moore, Josephine Robison, Tess Mitchell, Megan McNutt, Katelyn Bartos, Lena Bercz, Claire Olechiw-Big Ten Rowing Second Novice 8 Champion

Kathrin Demler-Women’s Swimming Big Ten Champion-200 Fly

Sade Olatoye-Big Ten Women’s Indoor Track & Field Champion-Weight Throw

Sade Olatoye-Big Ten Women’s Indoor Track & Field Champion-Shot Put

Anavia Battle-Big Ten Women’s Indoor Track & Field Champion-200 meters

Nick Gray-Big Ten Men’s Indoor Track & Field Champion-60m Dash

Nick Gray-Big Ten Men’s Indoor Track &Field Champion-200m Dash

Frank Hayes-Big Ten Men’s Indoor Track & Field Champion-600m Run

Taylor DeLoach-Big Ten Women’s Outdoor Track & Field-Long Jump

Bliss Soleyn, Anavia Battle, Karimah Senior, Taylor DeLoach-Big Ten Women’s Outdoor 4×100 meter

Anavia Battle-Big Ten Women’s Outdoor 100m Dash

Anavia Battle-Big Ten Women’s Outdoor 200m Dash

Abby Nichols-Big Ten Women’s Outdoor Track & Field-5000m Run

Nick Gray-Big Ten Men’s Outdoor-200m Dash

Joey McKenna-Big Ten Wrestling Champion-141lbs

Myles Martin-Big Ten Wrestling Champion-184lbs


9 Conference Players of the Year

Dwayne Haskins-Big Ten Offensive Player of the Year

Dwayne Haskins-Big Ten Quarterback of the Year

Devon Kerr-Women’s Soccer Big Ten Goalkeeper of the Year

Sade Olatoye-Big Ten Women’s Indoor Field Athlete of the Year

Sasha Larocque-Men’s Hockey-Big Ten Defensive Player of the Year

Tommy Nappier-Men’s Hockey-Big Ten Goaltender of the Year

Jincy Dunne-Women’s Hockey-WCHA Defensive Player of the Year

Justin Inacio-Men’s Lacrosse-Big Ten Co-Specialist of the Year

JJ Wolf-Men’s Tennis Big Ten Athlete of the Year


2 Conference Freshmen of the Year

Aneka Seumanutafa-Big Ten Women’s Golf

Isabelle Boulais-Big Ten Women’s Tennis


5 Conference Coaches of the Year

Jarred Martin-Big Ten Field Hockey

Steve Rohlik-Big Ten Men’s Hockey

Ty Tucker-Big Ten Men’s Tennis

Karen Dennis-Big Ten Women’s Indoor Track & Field

Karen Dennis-Big Ten Women’s Outdoor Track & Field


All-Conference Awards

41 First Team All-Conference

44 Second Team All-Conference

3 Third Team All-Conference

17 Honorable Mention All-Conference

12 All-Freshman Team Recipients

1 All-Defensive Team

13 Conference All-Tournament Team Recipients

5 Conference Tournament MVPs


1 Regional/Sectional Champions

Gray Team-Synchronized Swimming Team Routine


7 First Team All-Regional/District Selections

2 Second Team All-Regional/District Selections

2 Third Team All-Regional/District Selection


4 Regional Coach of the Year

Ty Tucker-ITA Midwest Region Coach of the Year

Justin Kronauge-ITA Midwest Region Assistant Coach of the Year

Karen Dennis-USTFCCCA Great Lakes Region Coach of the Year

Ashley Kovacs-USTFCCCA Great Lakes Region Assistant. Coach of the Year


3 Regional Players of the Year

Martin Joyce-Men’s Tennis-ITA Midwest Region Senior of the Year

Hunter Tubert-Men’s Tennis-ITA Midwest Region Most Improved Senior

Sade Olatoye-Track & Field-USTFCCCA Women’s Great Lakes Region Indoor Field Athlete of the Year


1 Regional Freshmen of the Year

Isabelle Boulais-Women’s Tennis-ITA Rookie of the Year


Big Ten Sportsmanship Award Winners for Ohio State

Niki Schroeder-Women’s Golf

Brendon Kearney-Men’s Hockey


Outside the Playing Field

  • The Eugene D. Smith Leadership Institute was created to provide leadership, character and career development for the more than 1,000 student-athletes at Ohio State in order to best prepare them for their post-graduation ambitions.
  • A program-high 46 student-athletes were part of the 2019 Huntington Bucks Go Pro 1.0 intern class. The group, representing 24 different sports programs, interned within the athletics department, on campus and with organizations off campus.
  • The 2019 Huntington Bucks Go Pro 2.0 intern class included a program-record 57 student-athletes taking part in a 10-week, paid internship experience with an employer in the United States. The group included student-athletes from 22 sports programs working with 33 companies.
  • More than 50 student-athletes participated in the Wolstein Leadership Academy, which includes a retreat that includes a variety of leadership discussions, activities and guest speakers.
  • The Buckeyes Go International program had student-athletes traveling on both service learning and education abroad trips. Sixteen student-athletes received scholarships for education abroad, with 30 total going to Mexico and Costa Rica on service-learning trips.
  • Of all 2019 graduating student-athletes, 86 percent are either continuing their education, have secured full-time employment or are pursuing professional sports.