Dec. 10, 2013

PASADENA, Calif. – Lloyd H. Carr, Orlando Pace and Lynn Swann headline the Rose Bowl Hall of Fame Class of 2013 to be installed at the Rose Bowl Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony supported by Wells Fargo at noon on Sunday, December 30, 2013, at the Pasadena Convention Center.

“In such a special year for the 100th Rose Bowl Game, we are delighted to induct a group of distinguished individuals,” said Tournament of Roses Executive Director Bill Flinn. “They truly personify the qualities that have become synonymous with our game.”

The Rose Bowl Hall of Fame was established in 1989 to pay tribute to members of the Rose Bowl Game who have contributed to the history and excitement of the game, and those who embody the highest level of passion, strength, tradition and honor associated with The Granddaddy of Them All®.

Over the past 24 years, a total of 110 inductees have been added to the Rose Bowl Hall of Fame. Inductees are honored with a permanent plaque that includes their name and year of induction at The Court of Champions at the Rose Bowl Stadium and are announced on the field during the 100th Rose Bowl Game.

Lloyd H. Carr coached at the University of Michigan for 28 years from 1980-2007, first with defensive backs, then as defensive coordinator before finally taking over the Wolverine head coaching post from 1995 until he retired in 2007. Over that span, Carr’s Michigan teams came to nine Rose Bowl Games, including four under his reign as head coach. Carr’s best season came in 1997, when he led the Wolverines to a 12-0 record, a Rose Bowl Game victory over Washington State and an AP National Championship. During his 13-year tenure as head coach, Carr posted a 122-40 record, which is third best in Michigan history behind legends Fielding Yost and fellow Rose Bowl Hall of Fame inductee Bo Schembechler. Carr directed Michigan to six bowl victories and five Big Ten titles. In his final season, Carr won the Bobby Dodd Coach of the Year Award, awarded to the coach whose team excels on the field, in the classroom and in the community. He and his wife, Laurie, have six children and 12 grandchildren.

Orlando Pace was a two-time consensus first-team All-American offensive tackle for the Ohio State Buckeyes from 1993-1996. Pace won the Outland Trophy, given annually for the best interior lineman in college football, in 1996, and the Lombardi Award, given to the best lineman or linebacker in 1995 and 1996. Pace’s Buckeyes’ defeated previously unbeaten Arizona State, 20-17, in the 1997 Rose Bowl Game, playing for 2012 Rose Bowl Hall of Fame inductee John Cooper. While offensive lineman are not typically headline news, Pace stole the show in the Rose Bowl Game by shutting down the Sun Devils All-American pass rusher Derrick Rodgers. Pace didn’t allow a sack in his final two seasons at Ohio State, ending with the Rose Bowl Game. When Sports Illustrated named their “NCAA Football All-Century Team” in 1999, Pace was selected as a starting tackle. He was also named to the NFL’s All-Decade Team for the 2000’s. Pace was inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame in 2013 and Ohio State “O” Hall of Fame in 2011. He and his wife, Carla, have four children.

Lynn Swann was a member of two Rose Bowl Game teams during his time at the University of Southern California. In the 1972 season, Swann led the Trojans in receiving yards and a victory over UCLA to earn a berth in the 1973 Rose Bowl Game. In that game, he again led the Trojans in receiving, catching six passes for 108 yards and a touchdown, in a 42-17 win over Ohio State. That season the Trojans became the first team in college football history to be unanimously voted as the No. 1 team. As a senior, Swann was a team captain and led USC in receiving. The Trojans went on to lose the 1974 Rose Bowl Game to the Buckeyes, 42-21, but Swann caught five passes for 47 yards. In 1973, Swann was a consensus All-American and winner of the Pop Warner Trophy, given to the most valuable senior on the West Coast. Swann was inducted into the College and Pro Football Hall of Fames, as well as the Pittsburgh Steelers and USC Athletic Hall of Fame. He and his wife, Charena, have two sons.

Legendary announcer and Rose Bowl Hall of Fame inductee Keith Jackson will once again serve as the master of ceremonies for the induction ceremony. The luncheon is open for public attendance and tickets are available online at