November 18, 2020

Ohio State’s 2020-21 Big Ten Basketball Schedule Announced


The 2020-21 Ohio State men’s basketball season will feature a 20-game Big Ten schedule, which begins on Wednesday, Dec. 16 when the Buckeyes travel to West Lafayette, Ind. to face Purdue. The league schedule was announced this evening and coupled with the Buckeyes’ five non-conference games gives Ohio State 25 games on its 2020-21 slate.

The season officially gets underway next Wednesday, Nov. 25 when Ohio State hosts Illinois State at 2 p.m. The game will be carried by either ESPN2 or ESPNU. Four days later, on Sunday, Nov. 29, Ohio State faces UMass-Lowell at the Covelli Center at 4 p.m. in a game that will be carried on BTN. The Buckeyes host Morehead State on Dec. 2 (5 p.m., BTN) and Alabama A&M on Dec. 5 (time TBD on BTN or BTN+) before closing out non-conference play on Tuesday, Dec. 8 at Notre Dame as part of the previously-announced Big Ten/ACC Challenge.

Big Ten play will run from December 16 through March 6 and included home-and-home games vs. Purdue, Rutgers, Penn State, Michigan State, Iowa and Illinois. The home portion of the Buckeyes’ conference schedule begins on Wednesday, Dec. 23 vs. Rutgers. Ohio State plays two additional games before the end of the calendar year – at Northwestern (Dec. 26) and home vs. Nebraska (Dec. 30).

On Wednesday, The Ohio State University Department of Athletics determined that family members of the players and coaching staffs of teams competing this fall will no longer be permitted into any university sporting event.

The decision by the department to not allow any fans aligns with the Columbus Department of Health’s stay at home advisory, which was issued Wednesday. The advisory starts at 6 p.m. Friday and will remain in place for the next 28 days.

2020-21 Ohio State Men’s Basketball Schedule
Nov. 25 – Illinois State (2 p.m., ESPN2 or ESPNU)
Nov. 29 – UMass-Lowell (4 p.m., BTN)
Dec. 2 – Morehead State (5 p.m., BTN)
Dec. 5 – Alabama A&M (TBD, BTN or BTN+)
Dec. 8 – at Notre Dame
Dec. 16 – at Purdue
Dec. 19 – vs. North Carolina (Cleveland, Ohio)
Dec. 23 – Rutgers
Dec. 26 – at Northwestern
Dec. 30 – Nebraska
Jan. 3 – at Minnesota
Jan. 6 – Penn State
Jan. 9 – at Rutgers
Jan. 13 – Northwestern
Jan. 16 – at Illinois
Jan. 23 – at Wisconsin
Jan. 27 – Purdue
Jan. 31 – Michigan State
Feb. 4 – at Iowa
Feb. 8 or Feb. 9 – at Maryland
Feb. 13 – Indiana
Feb. 18 – at Penn State
Feb. 21 – Michigan
Feb. 25 – at Michigan State
Feb. 28 – Iowa
March 6 – Illinois

All times are TBA unless otherwise noted