November 15, 2022

Ohio State Takes on Wake Forest in NCAA Opener Thursday


Ohio State at Wake Forest — 2022 NCAA Tournament
Thursday, Nov. 17, 2022
6 p.m. ET
Tickets: Ticket Information
Winston-Salem, North Carolina — Spry Stadium (3,000)
Watch: ESPN+
Live Stats:
Game Notes: Ohio State | Wake Forest
Rosters: Ohio State  PDF | Wake Forest
Season Stats: Ohio State | Wake Forest

COLUMBUS, Ohio – Ohio State travels to Winston-Salem, North Carolina, for a Thursday match against host Wake Forest in the opening round of the 2022 NCAA Tournament. First touch is set for 6 p.m. with ESPN+ streaming the match live.

Ohio State (10-3-5) is making its 11th appearance in the NCAA tournament and first since 2015. The Buckeyes finished tied for second in the Big Ten regular-season race and won their quarterfinal match against Michigan State in the conference tournament before falling to Rutgers in the semifinals.

  • Ohio State is making its 11th appearance in the NCAA Tournament and the first since 2015. The Buckeyes advanced to the College Cup Final in 2007, falling 2-1 to No. 1-ranked Wake Forest. Ohio State is 7-10-3 all-time in NCAA tournament competition.
  • The Buckeyes finished 7-0-2 at home during the 2022 regular season and then added a win in the 2022 Big Ten Tournament over MSU for an 8-0-2 record at JOMS this year. Ohio State was 8-0-1 in 2010 and 4-0-1 in 1974 and 4-0-0 in both 1965 and 1967 to mark the only other undefeated home seasons in Ohio State history. The eight home wins this year are the most since a 10-2-2 record at Jesse Owens Memorial Stadium in 2015.
  • Ohio State entered postseason competition at 9-2-5 overall, the most wins since the 2015 team posted a 13-7-3 overall record. The Buckeyes (10-3-5) have won 10 or more games in a season 20 times in program history.
  • Ohio State’s regular-season record (9-2-5) is tied for the best in program history in terms of fewest losses. The Buckeyes tied the previous best regular-season record (7-2-0) posted by the 1967 Buckeyes. The 2022 record of 9-2-5 also is the best in the Big Ten era (1991-present). Previously, the 2007 teams had the fewest losses in a season at 17-4-5.
  • The Big Ten Conference announced its 2022 Award winners Nov. 4. Ohio State was well represented. Junior Laurence Wootton (Midfielder of the Year) and senior Keagan McLaughlin (Goalkeeper of the Year) also garnered First Team All-Big Ten honors. Senior Xavier Green and sophomore Anthony Samways were named Second Team All-Big Ten by the league coaches. Rookies Tanner Creech and Luciano Pechota (unanimous) earned spots on the All-Freshman team while senior Brayden Durbin was named Ohio State’s Sportsmanship Award honoree.