February 13, 2022

No. 8 Buckeyes Conclude Regular Season with 34-3 Win


COLUMBUS, Ohio – No. 8 Ohio State (9-3, 5-3) finished the regular season with a 34-3 win over Indiana (3-7, 1-7) Sunday at the Covelli Center (3,571 att.). The Buckeyes will now focus on the Big Ten Championships March 5-6 at Pinnacle Bank Arena in Lincoln, Nebraska.

Six senior Buckeyes and their families were honored at halftime vs. the Hoosiers.

Fritz Schierl and Cade Hepner, who complete their eligibility this year, along with Brady and Dylan Koontz, Kaleb Romero and Tate Orndorff, all seniors but with one year of eligibility remaining, were recognized for their contributions to the Ohio State program during intermission after the fifth match of the day.

How it Happened

125 | No. 11 Mailk Heinselman (OSU) vs. Jacob Moran (IU)

Halfway into the first period Heinselman scored with a takedown and then added a four-point near fall to lead 6-0 heading to the second period. Heinselman added an escape to start the second for the 7-0 lead after two. Moran escaped to start the third but Heinselman countered with a takedown and with riding time, won by major decision, 10-2.

133 | Dylan Koontz (OSU) vs. No. 10 Brock Hudkins (IU)

Koontz scored first with a takedown but Hudkins quickly scored a reversal to tie it a 2-all. Hudkins escaped to start the second and headed to the third up 3-2. Koontz tied it with an escape but Hudkins scored a late takedown to win by decision, 5-3.

141 | No. 20 Dylan D’Emilio (OSU) vs. No. 32 Cayden Rooks (IU)

D’Emilio scored a late takedown at the end of the first to lead 2-0 and then escaped to start the second for a 3-0 lead. Another takedown upped the lead to 5-0. Rooks scored with an escape to open the third but D’Emilio added an escape. He finished off the match with a point for riding time to win by major decision, 10-2.

149 | No. 2 Sammy Sasso (OSU) vs. Graham Rooks (IU)

Sasso escaped to start the second and added a takedown for a 3-0 lead. Rooks escaped but could not score the rest of the way in a Sasso 3-1 win by decision.

157 | Isaac Wilcox (OSU) vs. Jonathan Kervin (IU)

Wilcox was the aggressor to score an early takedown. He led 3-1 going into the third. Kervin escaped to make it 3-2 but could not get another score in a win by decision for Wilcox.

165 | No. 4 Carson Kharchla (OSU) vs. Kasper McIntosh (IU)

Kharchla led 6-2 after the first on three takedowns. After another takedown and a four-point near fall, Kharchla led 12-3 heading to the third. Kharchla finished off the match in the third to earn the win by major decision, 20-6.

174 | No. 7 Ethan Smith (OSU) vs. Nick South (IU)

Smith scored a trio of first-period takedowns to lead 6-2 headed to the second. The lead was extended to 11-4 after two. Smith then finished off the match with a win by major decision, 19-6.

184 | No. 6 Kaleb Romero (OSU) vs. Sean Grim (IU)

Romero quickly scored the first takedown of the match. He added another and a pair of four-point near falls before finishing with a pin at 2:25.

197 | No. 21 Gavin Hoffman (OSU) vs. Nick Willham (IU)

Hoffman led 2-0 after the first after a late takedown. Willham escaped to start the second to send the match to the third with Hoffman in the lead, 2-1. Hoffman added a point with an escape to win by decision, 3-1.

HWT | No. 13 Tate Orndorff (OSU) vs. Jacob Bullock (IU)

The wrestlers butted heads just 18 seconds into the bout knocking Tate to the mat. He returned after a brief medical evaluation to record a takedown late in the first to lead 2-0. Bullock was called for stalling to give Tate a 3-0 lead. Tate added a couple of escapes around a Bullock takedown. Tate added a late takedown to win by decision, 8-3.


No. 8 Ohio State 34, Indiana 3OSUIndiana
125 | No. 11 Mailk Heinselman (OSU) def. Jacob Moran (IU) | MD, 10-240
133 | No. 10 Brock Hudkins (IU) def. Dylan Koontz (OSU) | D, 5-343
141 | No. 20 Dylan D’Emilio (OSU) def. No. 32 Cayden Rooks (IU) | MD, 10-283
149 | No. 2 Sammy Sasso (OSU) def. Graham Rooks (IU) | D, 3-1113
157 | Isaac Wilcox (OSU) def. Jonathan Kervin (IU) | D, 3-2143
165 | No. 4 Carson Kharchla (OSU) def. Kasper McIntosh (IU) | MD, 20-6183
174 | No. 7 Ethan Smith (OSU) def. Nick South (IU) | MD, 19-6223
184 | No. 6 Kaleb Romero (OSU) def. Sean Grim (IU) | Fall, 2:25283
197 | No. 21 Gavin Hoffman (OSU) def. Nick Willham (IU) | D, 3-1313
HWT | No. 13 Tate Orndorff (OSU) def. Jacob Bullock (IU) | D, 8-3343

Extra Matches
157 | Derek Gilcher (IU) def. Isaac Wilcox (OSU) | SV-1, 3-1
174 | Fritz Schierl (OSU) def. Drayton Harris (IU) | Fall, 3:45
197 | Gavin Hoffman (OSU) def. Garrett Hoffman (IU) | D, 11-6

Up Next

Ohio State travels to Lincoln, Nebraska, for the 2022 Big Ten Wrestling Championships at Pinnacle Bank Arena.

Ohio State Buckeyes