February 11, 2021

Liddell Named to Naismith Trophy Midseason Team


Listen: E.J. Liddell Jim Rome Show Interview 2/11/21

COLUMBUS, Ohio — Sophomore E.J. Liddell has been named to the 2021 Jersey Mike’s Naismith Trophy Midseason Team for Men’s Player of the Year, the Atlanta Tipoff Club announced Thursday.

“E.J. has earned this prestigious recognition and I am really happy for him,” Chris Holtmann, head coach of the Buckeyes, said. “He is a gifted player and his growth has been impressive. E.J. has been a joy to coach. He understands there is much work ahead of us this season and I know he is committed to working toward daily improvement.”

Liddell, a forward from Belleville, Illinois, leads the Buckeyes in scoring (14.9 ppg.), rebounding (6.8 rpg.) and blocks (24). He is second in steals (14).

The No. 4 Buckeyes (16-4, 10-4) are back in action at noon (ESPN) Saturday against Indiana at Value City Arena in Columbus.

2021 Jersey Mike’s Naismith Trophy Midseason Team

Alvarado Jose Jose Alvarado Sr. G Georgia Tech ACC
Bassey Charles Charles Bassey Jr. C Western Kentucky C-USA
Butler Jared Jared Butler Jr. G Baylor Big 12
Carr Marcus Marcus Carr Jr. G Minnesota Big Ten
Champagnie Justin Justin Champagnie So. F Pitt ACC
Cockburn Kofi Kofi Cockburn So. C Illinois Big Ten
Culver Derek Derek Culver Jr. F West Virginia Big 12
Cunningham Cade Cade Cunningham Fr. G Oklahoma State Big 12
da Silva Oscar Oscar da Silva Sr. F Stanford Pac-12
Dickinson Hunter Hunter Dickinson Fr. C Michigan Big Ten
Dosunmu Ayo Ayo Dosunmu Jr. G Illinois Big Ten
Garza Luka Luka Garza Sr. C Iowa Big Ten
Gillespie Collin Collin Gillespie Sr. G Villanova BIG EAST
Grimes Quentin Quentin Grimes Jr. G Houston AAC
Jackson-Davis Trayce Trayce Jackson-Davis So. F Indiana Big Ten
Jones Herbert Herbert Jones Sr. F/G Alabama SEC
Jones Carlik Carlik Jones Sr. G Louisville ACC
Kispert Corey Corey Kispert Sr. F Gonzaga WCC
Krutwig Cameron Cameron Krutwig Sr. C Loyola-Chicago MVC
Liddell E.J. E.J. Liddell So. F Ohio State Big Ten
Mamukelashvili Sandro Sandro Mamukelashvili Sr. F Seton Hall BIG EAST
McClung Mac Mac McClung Jr. G Texas Tech Big 12
Mitchell Davion Davion Mitchell Jr. G Baylor Big 12
Mobley Evan Evan Mobley Fr. F USC Pac-12
Robinson-Earl Jeremiah Jeremiah Robinson-Earl So. F Villanova BIG EAST
Suggs Jalen Jalen Suggs Fr. G Gonzaga WCC
Thomas Cameron Cameron Thomas Fr. G LSU SEC
Timme Drew Drew Timme So. F Gonzaga WCC
Williams Trevion Trevion Williams Jr. F Purdue Big Ten
Zegarowski Marcus Marcus Zegarowski Jr. G Creighton BIG EAST