April 11, 2022

Izzy Rodriguez Named Big Ten Medal of Honor Winner

Ohio State Buckeyes

COLUMBUS, Ohio – Women’s soccer graduate Izzy Rodriguez has been named Ohio State’s 2021-22 women’s recipient of the Big Ten Medal of Honor.

Rodriguez is the second women’s soccer player to earn the award, joining Cassie Dickerson who won the award in 2011. The Big Ten Medal of Honor was established in 1915 and was the first award in intercollegiate athletics to demonstrate support for the educational emphasis placed on athletics. It is awarded to one male and one female student-athlete from the graduating class of each member institution who has demonstrated excellence on and off the field throughout their college career.

Rodriguez was a Senior CLASS Award finalist this year and was on the MAC Hermann Award Preseason Watch List for the second time in three seasons. The three-time United Soccer Coaches All-Region honoree played in 88 career games for the Buckeyes over the last five seasons, making 87 starts. She had eight goals, 11 assists and was part of 29 shutouts in her career.

The Canton, Mich., native was a three-time All-Big Ten honoree and was the 2020 Big Ten Defender of the Year. She was part of a defense that had a scoreless streak of over 315 minutes last season. Rodriguez is a four-time OSU Scholar-Athlete, a two-time Big Ten Distinguished Scholar and graduated this past December with a finance degree.

Rodriguez is currently a member of the Kansas City Current in the NWSL. She was a fourth round pick this past winter.

Cassie Dickerson                 2011
Izzy Rodriguez                    2022

Nikki Walts                         2018
Lindsay Agnew                    2016
Tiff any Cameron                 2012
Danielle Scoliere                  2011
Ashley Bowyer                    2010
Lara Dickenmann                2007
Danielle Dietrich                  2006
Erica Nollen                        2005