June 17, 2022

Hunter Armstrong and Sophie Jaques Named Ohio State Athletes of the Year


Hunter Armstrong and Sophie Jaques are the 2021-22 Ohio State Athletes of the Year

COLUMBUS, Ohio – World record holder and Big Ten Champion Hunter Armstrong (men’s swimming) and NCAA and Western Collegiate Hockey Association (WCHA) champion Sophie Jaques (women’s hockey) are Ohio State’s 2022 Male and Female Athletes of the Year. Both will now be placed on the ballots for Big Ten Athlete of the Year awards, with the winners to be announced by the conference in late June.

Armstrong is the first men’s swimmer to win Ohio State’s Male Athlete of the Year award. He is only the second swimmer to collect the accolade, following Susan Gottlieb’s 1989-90 Female Athlete of the Year nod. Jaques becomes the second women’s hockey player to be named Ohio State’s Female Athlete of the Year after teammate and fellow defenseman Jincy Dunne won in 2020.

A 2020 Tokyo Olympics gold medalist, Armstrong continued his winning ways in the short course pool during his junior season for the Buckeyes. He earned four event wins during the regular season, including a 100 backstroke victory in the Buckeyes’ first dual win over rival Michigan in more than 30 years.

At the Big Ten Championship meet, Armstrong picked up five gold medals. Individually, he won the 50 and 100 freestyle titles, helping the Buckeyes to a historic 1-2-3 finish in the 100 freestyle. He added wins in the 200 and 400 freestyle relay and 200 medley relay.

Armstrong earned the Buckeyes’ highest finish at the 2022 NCAA Championship meet, placing fifth in the 100 backstroke for First Team All-America honors. He also helped the 200 freestyle relay to a seventh-place, All-American result. The Dover, Ohio native went on to add four honorable mention All-American honors – 100 freestyle, 200 and 400 medley relay and 400 freestyle relay. By the end of the season, he had a hand in setting seven of the 11 short course school records established this year.

Following the NCAA season, Armstrong made waves on the international level at the Phillips 66 International Team Trials. He set the 50 backstroke world record in a time of 23.71 to secure his spot on the Team USA World Championship roster. He went on to break four Ohio State long course records at the meet.

Armstrong is currently in Budapest, Hungary and set to compete at the 2022 FINA World Championships for the United States.

Jaques, who helped guide Ohio State to its first national championship in program history this year, had one of the best seasons by a women’s hockey player not just at Ohio State, but in the history of the NCAA.

The 2022 First Team AHCA/CCM All-American and First Team All-WCHA honoree totaled a team-high 59 points on the year, good for third-most in the nation despite being a defender. She set the Ohio State record for points in a single season by a defender and finished tied for the most single season points by any Buckeye skater. Jaques also recorded the second-most points in a season by a true defenseman in NCAA history as she doubled her career point total in just one year.

The Toronto, Ontario native proved to be a clutch player for the Buckeyes, especially in the postseason. With the WCHA Final Faceoff title on the line, Jaques scored both the game-tying and game-winning goals in the championship game against Minnesota to secure Ohio State’s second conference tournament title. The feat earned her MVP honors of the tournament and she went on to be named to the Frozen Four All-Tournament Team. She finished the season with a team-best 11 power play goals, 44 blocked shots and +51 on-ice.

Jaques, who was named Ohio State’s first Arthur Ashe Jr. Sport Scholar of the Year award winner, was named Ohio State’s first top-three finalist for the Patty Kazmaier Memorial Award. She also became the third Buckeye to earn WCHA Defender of the Year honors after winning four of the conference’s five monthly defenseman awards and eight weekly honors on the year.

A 2022 Ohio State civil engineering graduate, Jaques returns to the Buckeye roster for the 2022-23 season for her final year of eligibility. She will be pursuing a graduate degree in civil engineering.

Ohio State Male/Female Athletes of the Year

SportBig Ten Athlete of the Year
2021-22Sophie JaquesWomen's Hockey
2021-22Hunter ArmstrongMen's Swimming
2020-21Adelaide AquillaTrack & Field
2020-21Justin FieldsFootball
2019-20Jincy DunneWomen's Ice Hockey
2019-20Chase YoungFootball
2018-19Sade OlatoyeTrack & Field
2018-19Dwayne HaskinsFootball
2017-18Kelsey MitchellBasketball
2017-18Kyle SnyderWrestling
2016-17Francesca Di LorenzoTennis
2016-17Kyle SnyderWrestling
2015-16Catherine ShieldsRowing
2015-16Kyle Snyder Wrestling
2014-15Ashley BauerRowing
2014-15Logan StieberWrestling
2013-14Catherine Shields Rowing
2013-14Logan StieberWrestling
2012-13Claire-Louise BodeRowing
2012-13Blaz RolaTennis
2011-12Christina ManningTrack & Field
2011-12Zain ShaitoFencing
2010-11Jantel LavenderBasketball
2010-11Steven KehoeVolleyball
2009-10Sam Marder Softball
2009-10Evan TurnerBasketball
2008-09Jantel LavenderBasketball
2008-09J JaggersWrestling
2007-08Teresa MeyerPistol
2007-08Andras HoranyiFencing
2006-07Jessica DavenportBasketball
2006-07Troy Smith Football
2005-06Jessica DavenportBasketball
2005-06A.J. Hawk Football
2004-05Stacey GordonVolleyball
2004-05Mike NugentFootball
2003-04Allison HannaGolf
2003-04Dan TaylorTrack & Field
2002-03Stacey GordonVolleyball
2002-03Craig Krenzel Football
2001-02Anna Smith Softball
2001-02Raj BhavsarGymnastics
2000-01Donica MerrimanTrack & Field
2000-01Jamie NatalieGymnastics
1999-00Donica MerrimanTrack & Field
1999-00Jamie Natalie Gymnastics
1998-99Dominque CallowayTrack & Field
1998-99 Scoonie PennBasketball
1997-98Vanessa WoutersVolleyball
1997-98Hugo BoisvertHockey
1996-97Amy LanghalsGolf
1996-97Blaine WilsonGymnastics
1995-96Katie Smith Basketball
1995-96Eddie GeorgeFootball
1994-95Laura DavisVolleyball
1994-95Blaine WilsonGymnastics
1993-94Katie Smith Basketball
1993-94Chris SandersTrack & Field
1992-93Audrey BurcyBasketball
1992-93Chris NellomsTrack & Field
1991-92Leisa WisslerVolleyball
1991-92Jim JacksonBasketball
1990-91Holly O'LearyVolleyball
1990-91Jim JacksonBasketball
1989-90Susan GottliebSwimming
1989-90Mike RancanelliGymnastics
1988-89Nikita LowryBasketball
1988-89Joe GreeneTrack & Field
1987-88Bridgette TateTrack & Field
1987-88Chris SpielmanFootball
1986-87Karen LaFaceDiving
1986-87Butch ReynoldsTrack & Field
1985-86Tracey HallBasketball
1985-86Mike LaneseFootball
1984-85Yvette Angel Basketball
1984-85Robert PlayterGymnastics
1983-84Sarah JosephsonSynchronized Swimming
1983-84John Frank Football
1982-83Cathy KratzertGolf
1982-83Chris PerryGolf
1981-82Art SchlichterFootball