Dec. 9, 2014

Little Rock, Arkansas – The Rotary Club of Little Rock announced Coach Tom Herman, Ohio State University Offensive Coordinator as the 19th recipient of the Broyles Award, given annually to the top assistant coach in college football. Herman was honored, along with his fellow finalists, at a Tuesday luncheon at the Marriott Hotel in Little Rock.

Complete List of the 2014 Broyles Awards Finalists:

  • Lane Kiffin, University of Alabama, Offensive Coordinator
  • Dave Steckel, University of Missouri, Defensive Coordinator
  • Tom Herman, Ohio State University, Offensive Coordinator
  • Scott Frost, University of Oregon, Offensive Coordinator
  • Doug Meacham, Texas Christian University, Co-Offensive Coordinator

More Information:
The 2014 Broyles Award winner was announced on Tuesday, December 9th at 11:30 a.m. at the Marriott Hotel in Little Rock, Arkansas. The Broyles Award is presented by The Rotary Club of Little Rock and Delta Dental.

The winner of the 2013 Broyles Award was Pat Narduzzi, Michigan State. The Broyles Award honors the top assistant college football coach in America and was established in 1996 to honor legendary Arkansas Head Coach Frank Broyles. Coach Broyles had a track record of producing some of the most successful assistant coaches in college football history.

The Broyles Award is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA). The NCFAA was founded in 1997 as a coalition of the major collegiate football awards to protect, preserve and enhance the integrity, influence and prestige of the game’s predominant awards. The NCFAA encourages professionalism and the highest standards for the administration of its member awards and the selection of their candidates and recipients. Visit the association’s official website, to learn more.

For more information, visit the Broyles Award website or find us on Facebook and Twitter. Use #BroylesAward to follow along with the event.

About the Broyles Award:
There are few coaches whose efforts have forever impacted the game of college football. Bear Bryant, Knute Rockne, Frank Leahy and Eddie Robinson have set the standard for victories and championships on the gridiron. However, when it comes to selecting, developing and producing great assistant coaches, the legacy of Frank Broyles stands alone. Former Broyles assistant coaches who have become head coaches have gone on to coach in 20 percent of all Super Bowls and win almost 15 percent of all Super Bowl titles plus five national collegiate championships, more than 40 conference titles and more than 2,000 games. More than 25 Broyles assistants went on to become head coaches at the college or professional level, including: Joe Gibbs, Hayden Fry, Raymond Berry, Jimmy Johnson, Johnny Majors, Jackie Sherrill and Barry Switzer.

In 1996, the Broyles Award was established to recognize the dedicated, hard-working assistants like those who worked for Broyles, and to date, seventy plus finalists and fifteen winners have been honored. Like many of Broyles’ assistants who went on to do great things, numerous coaches recognized by the Broyles Award have since remained in the spotlight, with 20 percent of finalists and winners going on to become head coaches.

The Selection Process:
Each NCAA Division I head coach may nominate one of his assistants for the Broyles Award. Every assistant that is nominated, but not selected as a finalist, receives a personalized wall plaque recognizing his efforts. The finalists are chosen by an 11 person panel that may be the most prestigious of any awards panel, representing 11 national championships, more than 2,000 victories, over 70 conference titles, 178 bowl game appearances and 13 national head coach of the year honors.

Broyles Award Panelists:

  • Former Arkansas Athletic Director and Coach Frank Broyles
  • Former Georgia Coach Vince Dooley
  • Former Syracuse Coach Dick MacPherson
  • Former Baylor Coach Grant Teaff
  • Former Brigham Young Coach LaVell Edwards
  • Former Iowa Coach Hayden Fry
  • Former Oklahoma Coach Barry Switzer
  • Former Tennessee and Pittsburgh Coach Johnny Majors
  • Former Florida State University Coach Bobby Bowden
  • Former Texas Longhorn Coach Mack Brown
  • Former Tennessee Volunteer Coach Phillip Fulmer

Previous Broyles Award Winners:

  • Florida State defensive coordinator Mickey Andrews (1996)
  • Former Michigan defensive coordinator Jim Herrmann (1997)
  • Former Tennessee offensive coordinator David Cutcliffe (1998)
  • Former Georgia Tech offensive coordinator Ralph Friedgen (1999)
  • Former Oklahoma offensive coordinator Mark Mangino (2000)
  • Former Miami defensive coordinator Randy Shannon (2001)
  • Former Southern California offensive coordinator Norm Chow (2002)
  • Former Georgia defensive coordinator Brian VanGorder (2003)
  • Former Auburn defensive coordinator Gene Chizik (2004)
  • Texas offensive coordinator Greg Davis (2005)
  • Virginia Tech defensive coordinator Bud Foster (2006)
  • Ohio State defensive coordinator Jim Heacock (2007)
  • Oklahoma offensive coordinator Kevin Wilson (2008)
  • Alabama defensive coordinator Kirby Smart (2009)
  • Auburn University offensive coordinator Gus Malzahn (2010)
  • Louisiana State University defensive coordinator John Chavis (2011)
  • Notre Dame defensive coordinator Bob Diaco (2012)
  • Michigan State defensive coordinator Pat Narduzzi (2013)

Broyles assistant coaches and their head-coaching jobs:

  • Joe Gibbs: Washington Redskins
  • Hayden Fry: Iowa, SMU, North Texas
  • Johnny Majors: Pittsburgh, Tennessee
  • Barry Switzer: Oklahoma, Dallas Cowboys
  • Jimmy Johnson: Miami, Dallas Cowboys, Miami Dolphins, Oklahoma State
  • Jackie Sherrill: Pittsburgh, Texas A&M, Mississippi State, Washington State
  • Raymond Berry: New England Patriots
  • Doug Dickey: Florida, Tennessee
  • Pepper Rogers: UCLA, Georgia Tech, Kansas
  • Hootie Ingram: Clemson
  • Bo Rein: LSU, North Carolina State
  • Jim Mackenzie: Oklahoma
  • Jerry Claiborne: Maryland, Kentucky
  • Jim Carlen: South Carolina, Texas Tech
  • Pat Jones: Oklahoma State
  • Bill Lewis: Georgia Tech, East Carolina, Wyoming
  • Richard Williamson: Tampa Bay, Memphis State
  • Richard Bell: South Carolina
  • Bill Pace: Vanderbilt
  • Charley Coffey: Virginia Tech
  • Harold Horton: Central Arkansas
  • Ken Turner: Henderson State
  • Ken Stephens: Central Arkansas, Lamar
  • Jesse Branch: Southwest Missouri State, Henderson State
  • Fred Akers: Texas, Purdue, Wyoming
  • Ken Hatfield: Arkansas, Clemson, Air Force, Rice
  • Houston Nutt: Mississippi, Arkansas, Boise State, Murray State