April 14, 2022

Fencers Receive Academic Accolades


COLUMBUS, Ohio — At the annual Ohio State Scholar-Athlete Award banquet Monday, the fencing program had 49 standouts recognized as Ohio State Scholar-Athletes and the women’s program received the Varsity O award for most improved large team grade-point average.

Senior Shanvanth Arnipalli was one of five Buckeyes selected for the Woody and Anne Hayes Award. The award, established in 1979, provides one or more varsity athletes with financial assistance for postgraduate studies. The recipients of this scholarship are student-athletes who have demonstrated academic achievement (3.00 GPA minimum) and leadership qualities.


Five-Time Scholar-Athlete
William Gaziano – Finance

Four-Time Scholar-Athletes
Matthew Comes – Mechanical Engineering
Ariel Gluck – Materials Science and Engineering
Henry Lange – Linguistics
Stephanie Miller – Journalism
Camilla Rivano – Consumer Sciences

Three-Time Scholar-Athletes
Shanvanth Arnipalli – Environmental Science
Bence Bende – Biology
Stephen Chou – Computer Science & Engineering
Lauryn DeLuca – Early Childhood Education
James Flanagan – Economics – Business
Emma Montgomery – Pharmaceutical Sciences*
Jadon Montgomery – Marketing
Roscoe Swartz – Neuroscience
Nathan Wriedt – Materials Science and Engineering

Two-Time Scholar-Athletes
Evie Bustamante – Marketing
Mika Guillen – Finance
Vincent Frederick Haney – Neuroscience
Clark Kokenge – Political Science
Edriss Ndiaye – Business
David Ouellette – Marketing
Jack Price – Information Systems
Maxwell Rodney – Journalism
Kristen Ruscitelli – Evolution and Ecology
Zoe Shay – Tannas – Industrial Design
Montserrat Viveros – Marketing
Nolan Williams – Psychology

First-Time Scholar-Athletes
Chandini Antal – Accounting
Christopher Collado – Political Science
Karina Dyner – Political Science*
Gabriel Feinberg – Arts and Sciences – BA – Undecided
Kelly Feng – International Studies*
Miranda Freedman – International Studies
Claire Teresa Galavotti – Psychology
Jacob Gordon – Aviation
Anitya Kumar – Computer Science & Engineering (pre)
Katherine Larimer – Exercise Science Education
Alina Lee – Business*
Wesley Lee – Marketing
Yeva Mazur – Psychology
Eleonore Perrier – Biology
Heloisa Scanavini – Neuroscience
Jewelia Smith – Materials Science and Engineering
Julieta Toledo – Film Studies
Paul Veltrup – Psychology
Justin Vogler – Aerospace Engineering
Talia Weiss – Marketing
Miles Weiss – Environment, Economy, Development & Sustainability
Lucy Whittemore – Exploration

*4.00 grade-point average

Ohio State Buckeyes
Ohio State Buckeyes
Ohio State Buckeyes