March 23, 2022

Eight Buckeyes Named Academic All-Big Ten


COLUMBUS, Ohio – Eight members of the Ohio State men’s basketball team have earned Academic All-Big Ten honors as announced by the conference on Wednesday. Justin Ahrens, Eugene Brown III, Harrison Hookfin, Meechie Johnson Jr., Jimmy Sotos, Justice Sueing, Seth Towns and Kyle Young all earned the distinction this season.

To be eligible for Academic All-Big Ten selection, student-athletes must be on a varsity team, as verified by being on the official squad list as of Nov. 1 for fall sports, have been enrolled full-time at the institution for a minimum of 12 months and carry a cumulative grade-point average of 3.0 or higher.

The eight Buckeye honorees this year are the most in one season in program history are the second-most among Big Ten men’s basketball programs this year. Young has now earned the award for the fourth consecutive season while Hookfin is a three-time honoree and Ahrens and Sueing each claim the award for the second time.

2021-22 Ohio State Academic All-Big Ten
Justin Ahrens Sr. Sport Industry
Eugene Brown III So. Sport Industry
Harrison Hookfin Sr. Biology
Meechie Johnson Jr. Fr. Marketing
Jimmy Sotos Grad. Sport Management
Justice Sueing Sr. Psychology
Seth Towns Grad. Sport Management
Kyle Young Grad. Sport Management