Jan. 19, 2016

Columbus, Ohio— For the second year in a row, an Ohio State women’s hockey player has been named one of 18 nominees for the 2016 BNY Mellon Wealth Management Hockey Humanitarian Award. On Tuesday, senior defenseman Cara Zubko became the latest Buckeye to be considered for college hockey’s top off-ice honor.

According to “The award recognizes college hockey’s finest citizen — a student-athlete who makes significant contributions not only to his or her team, but also to the community-at-large through leadership in volunteerism.”

Throughout her time here, Zubko has been involved with the Student-Athlete Advisory Board (SAAB), an organization that serves as a liaison between varsity student-athletes and various branches of the athletic department.

The Princeville, Saskatchewan native has also been involved with outside organizations as well. Through Team Impact she served as the primary contact between the team and its match, a little girl named Erin, a match that has benefitted both parties. She was also selected to be involved with a program called Coach for College in the summer of 2014. She travelled to Vietnam for three weeks where she taught underprivileged children in very rural areas.

Along with other members of the team she works with Second and 7, a program that, among other things, provides student-athletes the chance to travel to local elementary schools and read books to the students there. In addition to that, she has also worked with the Ronald McDonald house to read to children there.

In the classroom, Zubko has been named a scholar athlete a combined five times by both Ohio State and the WCHA.

“Cara is a very deserving candidate as she has a big heart and is very giving,” said head coach Jenny Potter. “She has been a big sister to Erin, our Team Impact player, as well as a leader on our team.”

Last season, former Buckeye Kayla Sullivan was nominated for the prestigious award. In fact, upon her graduation, Sullivan recommended Zubko as her successor to be the team’s leading ambassador with Team Impact.

The 2016 finalists will be announced in February, with the recipient named on Friday, April 8 at the Frozen Four in Tampa, Fla.