March 27, 2023

Yost Named Diver of the Year


RICHMOND, Va. – Lyle Yost has been named the Diver of the Year, announced by the College Swimming and Diving Coaches Association of America (CSCAA) on Monday.

Yost was the only diver to advance to all three championship finals and earn three First Team All-America honors at the NCAA Championships last week.

Yost’s week was highlighted by claiming the national title on the 1-meter board. He was the top qualifier coming out of prelims and led throughout all six dives of the championship final, earning a total score of 443.95. Yost was the first Buckeye since Patrick Jeffrey in 1988 to win the 1-meter final at the NCAA Championships and was the first Buckeye since Colin Zeng (platform) in 2016 to claim a national title in any event.

Yost finished fifth on the 3-meter with a score of 408.50 and he tied for sixth place on platform with an overall score of 366.35.

Yost contributed a total of 46.5 points to the team score, helping the Buckeyes to an 11th place finish.