Columbus, Ohio The Ohio State University women’s and men’s swimming and diving teams will host their annual Ohio State Swimming & Diving Invite Friday through Sunday, Dec. 5-7, at the McCorkle Aquatic Pavilion. Swimmers and divers from 14 different schools will be competing at this year’s event, which is run in the order that NCAA and conference championships are contested. Admission is free.

2008 Invite Field 
Swimmers and/or divers from 12 teams will compete in the women’s field. Those schools include: Arizona State, Bowling Green, Cleveland State, Florida State, Indiana, Minnesota, Miami (Fla.), North Carolina State, Notre Dame, Ohio State, Penn State and Purdue.

  The men’s field will include student-athletes from the following eight schools: Cleveland State, Duke, Iowa, Minnesota, Notre Dame, Ohio State, Penn State and South Carolina.

The Bill and Mae McCorkle Aquatic Pavilion
Considered one of the finest competition pools and diving wells in the nation, the Bill and Mae McCorkle Aquatic Pavilion’s new technology provides a venue for some of the fastest times and best diving in the country. In fact, the July 2007 issue of Aquatics International magazine stated this about McCorkle:

“a state-of-the-art competition pool loaded with the latest technology sets a university apart from the competition.”

Dedicated October 14, 2005, the McCorkle Aquatic Pavilion is the newest addition to Ohio State’s top-notch athletics facilities. The Pavilion consists of the Mike Peppe Natatorium and the Ron O’Brien Diving Well. Holding nearly 1.56 million gallons of water in the entire facility, the Pavilion is part of Ohio State’s new Recreation and Physical Activity Center (RPAC). The McCorkle Aquatic Pavilion has already hosted numerous championship competitions and is scheduled to host more. Here’s the championship slate to date:

  • 2010 Men’s NCAA Championships
  • 2010 Men’s Big Ten Championships
  • 2008 Toyota Grand Prix at The Ohio State University
  • 2008 Women’s NCAA Championships
  • 2008 NCAA Zone C Diving Competition
  • 2008 Women’s Big Ten Championships
  • 2008 USA Diving World Cup Selection Camp
  • 2007 Men’s Big Ten Championships
  • 2006 Women’s Big Ten Championships
  • 2006 NCAA Zone C Diving Competition
  • 2006 McCorkle Long Course Classic
  • 2006 Peppe/Bruce Invitational
  • 2006 International Diving Invitational

Live Meet Scoring/Results
Go to and drag down “sports” in upper right corner and choose women’s swimming and diving. Once in the women’s home page, click on Live Meet Scoring on the right hand side of the page.

All Media members interested in covering the event should submit credential requests via e-mail to Kendra Lee at

Credential Pick-Up
Media credentials may be picked up on the days of the event from the “Red Coat” stationed at the main entrance of the McCorkle Aquatic Pavilion.

Parking is available at an hourly rate in the Neil Avenue Parking Garage just south of the
McCorkle Aquatic Pavilion and the Tuttle Park Place Parking Garage north of the facility.

Schedule of Events
Friday, Dec. 5, 2008
10:00 a.m.
Doors open to the public

11:00 a.m. Prelims/Trials
1. 500-yard freestyle
2. 200-yard individual medley
3. 50-yard freestyle
4. One-meter diving

5:00 p.m. Doors open to the public

6:00 p.m. Friday Finals
6. 200-yard freestyle relay
7. 500-yard freestyle
8. 200-yard individual medley
9. 50-yard freestyle
10. One-meter diving Finals
11. 400-yard medley relay Finals

Saturday, Dec. 6, 2008
9:00 a.m. Doors open to the public

10:00 a.m. Prelims/Trials
12. 400-yard individual medley
13. 100-yard butterfly
14. 200-yard freestyle
15. 100-yard breaststroke
16. 100-yard backstroke
17. Three-meter diving

4:00 p.m. Doors open to the public

5 p.m. Saturday Finals
18. 200-yard medley relay
19. 400-yard individual medley
20. 100-yard butterfly
21. 200-yard freestyle
22. 100-yard breaststroke
23. 100-yard backstroke
24. Three-meter diving
25. 800-yard freestyle relay

Sunday, Dec. 7, 2008
8 a.m.
Doors open to the public

9:00 a.m. Prelims/Trials
26. 200-yard backstroke
27. 100-yard freestyle
28. 200-yard breaststroke
29. 200-yard butterfly
30. Platform diving (Noon, approx.) 
31. 1,650-yard freestyle timed finals

2:00 p.m. Doors open to the public

3:00 p.m. Finals
32. 1,650-yard freestyle (Last heat of timed finals)
33. 200-yard backstroke
34. 100-yard freestyle
35. 200-yard breaststroke
36. 200-yard butterfly
37. 400-yard freestyle relay