May 6, 2001

COLUMBUS, Ohio– The Ohio State wrestling team concluded its 2000-01 campaign with its annual Daniel G. Hummel Awards and Honors Banquet at the Faculty Club Sunday. Along with awards given to the top performers of the year for the Buckeyes went high accolades and appreciation for the program’s two graduating seniors, Kore Sharpley (Sr., Shaker Heights, Ohio/Shaker Heights), a 125-pound competitor, and Sean Paul Petersen (Sr., New Port Richey, Fla./River Ridge), a wrestler at 141.

“They are such special guys,” Russ Hellickson, OSU head coach, said of his seniors. “They are mature young men and everything they said was sincere. They grew with this program and helped bring it to where it is today.”

Sharpley completed his career with a 61-44 record and was a two-time national qualifier while Petersen saw limited action on the mats as he posted a 15-25 career mark.

“Although I did not accomplish everything I wanted to in my time here at Ohio State, I would not trade my experiences for anything else,” Petersen said. “The people I have met and the experiences I have gained have been second to none. I think the thing I will miss the most are the friendships I have built here.”

In the awards ceremony, All-American Tommy Rowlands (Fr., Columbus, Ohio/Bishop Ready) was honored for his sensational freshman year. He took home awards for Most Takedowns (162) and Most Team Points (162) and was selected by his teammates as the Most Dedicated and Most Outstanding Wrestler after becoming a national finalist.

“It’s a big honor,” Rowlands said. “I think the one I’m most proud of is the Most Dedicated award because that is voted on by my teammates and I really appreciate the support they have given me this year.”

Rowlands and Robert Sessley (Jr., Columbus, Ohio/Beechcroft), OSU’s 10th two-time All-American and the ninth under Hellickson, were named as the team’s captains for next season, also selected by the team.

Josh Janson (Jr., Loveland, Ohio/Cincinnati Moeller) was awarded the Most Falls award for his 11 wins by fall during the season and was voted as the Most Improved Wrestler on the squad. Keaton Anderson (So., Pickerington, Ohio/Pickerington) secured the Most Back Points award after collecting 88 near fall points on the year.

Richie Bordner (Jr., Jefferson City, Mo./Jefferson City) and Jeff Ratliff (Fr., Marion, Ohio/Marion Harding) were recognized as the Scholar-Athlete and Underclassmen Scholar-Athlete, respectively, with their performances in the classroom as well as on the mat. Both wrestlers were selected as Academic All-Big Ten and OSU Scholar-Athletes as well. Bordner posted a 3.80 GPA in English and philosophy, the highest on the team, while Ratliff’s 3.32 earned him recognition. The two competitors were joined by Blake Kaplan (So., Cincinnati, Ohio/Sycamore), Casey Kapustka (So., Centerville, Ohio/Centerville), Ryan Hieber (Fr., Galion, Ohio/Galion), Petersen and Phillip Freeman (So., Cincinnati, Ohio/Northrop) as both Academic All-Big Ten and OSU Scholar-Athletes for the 2000-01 campaign.