Los Angeles (April 6, 2011)- The John R. Wooden Award Gala will be streamed live from The Los Angeles Athletic Club Friday, April 8, at 10 pm ET. College basketball fans should go to the following website:

Viewers can watch the announcement of the men’s and winners as collegiate basketball’s players of the year live, as well as the presentation of the Legends of Coaching Award to Michigan State Head Coach Tom Izzo, who led the Spartans to their 14th straight NCAA Tournament appearance this year. The final vote tally will be released that night as well. For up to date information on all of the Wooden Award candidates, please go to
The winners will receive a contribution from The Los Angeles Athletic Club for their university’s general scholarship fund. 
About the John R. Wooden Award
Created in 1976, the John R. Wooden Award is the most prestigious individual honor in college basketball.  It is bestowed upon the nation’s best player at an institution of higher education who has proven to his or her university that he or she is making progress toward graduation and maintaining a minimum cumulative 2.0 GPA.  Previous winners include such notables as Larry Bird (’79), Michael Jordan (’84), Tim Duncan (’97), Blake Griffin (’09) and Maya Moore of Connecticut (’09). Ohio State’s Evan Turner and Connecticut’s Tina Charles won the Award in 2010.
Since its inception, the John R. Wooden Award has contributed close to a million dollars to universities’ general scholarship fund in the names of the All American recipients. The Award has also sent more than 1,000 underprivileged children to week-long college basketball camps in the Award’s name.   Additionally, the John R. Wooden Award partners with Special Olympics Southern California (SOSC) each year to host the Wooden Award Special Olympics Southern California Basketball Tournament.  The tournament, which brings together Special Olympic athletes and the All Americans, takes place at The Los Angeles Athletic Club the morning after the John R. Wooden Award Ceremony.