May 20, 2019

Women’s Volleyball Releases 2019 Schedule



COLUMBUS, Ohio – Sixteen home matches, including 10 Big Ten contests in Ohio State’s brand new facility, the Covelli Center, highlights the 2019 women’s volleyball schedule.

The Buckeyes’ 32-match slate features 14 matches against 10 teams that made the 2018 NCAA Tournament. Seven of those teams are Big Ten foes – Michigan, Penn State, Purdue, Illinois, Minnesota, Wisconsin and Nebraska.

“The team is excited to be in the new Covelli Center for 16 matches this season, hosting two preseason tournaments along the way,” said head coach Geoff Carlston. “It’s a strong schedule for sure. This group grew tremendously over the spring and will be prepared for it.”

Looking at Big Ten matches, the Buckeyes have a home-and-home series with Final Four participant Illinois and will travel to national runner-up Nebraska for their regular season finale on Nov. 30. The conference slate opens on Sept. 25 at Maryland.

The women’s volleyball squad will be the first team to compete in the Covelli Center when it opens its season on Aug. 30-31 with the Sports Imports D.C. Koehl Classic. Ohio State will host Texas Tech, VCU and Lehigh during the two-day tournament. The Buckeyes will spend the next two weeks on the road with tournaments at Pitt (Sept. 6-7) and Western Kentucky (Sept. 13-14). The team returns to Columbus for its final preseason tournament against Miami (OH), Illinois State and Dayton at the Buckeye Invitational Sept. 19-21.

The 20-match Big Ten gauntlet includes home dates with Michigan State, Michigan, Iowa, Purdue, Rutgers, Maryland, Wisconsin, Minnesota, Northwestern and Illinois.

Ohio State Buckeyes