Feb. 1, 2005

COLUMBUS, Ohio – The Ohio State Athletic Department announced today that women’s volleyball head coach Jim Stone has received a five-year renewal of his contract that will keep him with the Buckeyes until 2010. Stone just completed his 23rd year at Ohio State in guiding the Buckeyes to a 30-4 overall record and advancing to the NCAA regional championships. He was the 2004 Big Ten Coach of the Year and was named the 2004 American Volleyball Coaches Association Mideast Coach of the Year.

“I’m certainly happy to be able to continue my coaching career with a great university and athletic department,” said Stone. “Andy Geiger has always been very supportive of the women’s volleyball program both on and off the court. I appreciate the confidence he has shown in me and the women’s volleyball staff. Our team will continue to work hard and build on this past successful season. I’m definitely looking forward to the upcoming seasons.”

In his 23 years with the Buckeyes, Stone has a 471-261 record with Ohio State and a 263-151 mark in Big Ten play. With Stone, the Buckeyes have won three Big Ten Championships and advanced to NCAA play 13 times. Ohio State has advanced to NCAA regional play 10 times and reached the NCAA National Semifinals in 1991 and 1994.

“Jim Stone has led Ohio State women’s volleyball to national prominence for many years,” said Ohio State Athletics Director Andy Geiger. “We are delighted to renew his agreement and ensure continued excellence for the volleyball Buckeyes. His technical expertise and his ability to attract outstanding student-athletes make him one of the very best in the country. He deserves the recognition that goes with this renewal of his contract at Ohio State.”

During Stone’s career at Ohio State, he has had 54 All-Big Ten selections, 33 American Volleyball Coaches Association All-Region selections, 18 All-Americans and two AVCA National Players of the Year including the 2004 AVCA Co-National Player of the Year, Stacey Gordon. His student-athletes have been honored as Ohio State Scholar-Athletes 111 times and he has had 58 Academic All-Big Ten selections.