Nov. 28, 2006

COLUMBUS, Ohio – Women’s volleyball Danielle Meyer (Jr., Cincinnati, Ohio) has been named to the ESPN The Magazine Academic All-American Second Team. She was a first team All-District selection, making her eligible for Academic All-American honors.

Meyer, a second team All-District selection last season, is majoring in Textile and Clothing. She is averaging 5.08 points, 4.33 kills, .27 aces, 2.03 digs and .82 blocks per game for the Buckeyes. Meyer was named to the 2006 All-Big Ten Team and is a two-time All-Big Ten selection.

A third team American Volleyball Coaches Association All-American in 2005, Meyer was an Ohio State Scholar-Athlete and an Academic All-Big Ten selection.

To be considered for the ESPN The Magazine Academic All-American award, a student-athlete must be at least a sophomore in academic standing, own a grade-point average of 3.2 and must be a starter or key reserve for their team. All first team selections from each of the eight districts are now eligible for Academic All-America honors. Sports information directors nominate eligible athletes from their schools who are named to district teams prior to being voted upon on the national level. CoSIDA has been selecting Academic All-America teams since 1952.

Ohio State (23-7 overall, 13-7 Big Ten, fourth place continues play this week as the 11th seed in the NCAA Championship. The Buckeyes face Belmont (24-6) at 5 p.m. Friday in Louisville, Ky. in the first round. Louisville (25-6) hosts Middle Tennessee (26-7) at 7 p.m. The Friday winners play Saturday at 5 p.m. for a sport in the Seattle Regional, Dec. 8-9.

2006 ESPN The Magazine Academic All-American Team-University Division

First Team Jackie Choi, New Mexico State Christi Hahn, Texas A^M Sarah Pavan, Nebraska Kate Bean, Toledo Heidi Krug, East Carolina Sarah Kirkwood, Virginia

Second Team Tiffany Baker, McNeese State Danielle Meyer, Ohio State Claire Jackson, IPFW Jessica Vander Kooi, Missouri Abbey Breit, Jacksonville State Courtney Thompson, Washington

Third Team Sheila Parrish, North Dakota State Emily Greisch, Creighton Kristen Bitter, Oregon Kelsey Fautsch, Tennessee Ali Hausfeld, Duke Lindsy Hartsock, Brigham Young Rachel Shanks, Auburn Cheryl Hegemann, Wisconsin-Milwaukee

University Player of the Year Sarah Pavan, Nebraska