May 10, 2004

Columbus, Ohio – The Ohio State women’s tennis team handed out its yearly awards Saturday night at the Football Recruiting Room at Ohio Stadium. Emily DeCamilla (Jr., Sacramento, Calif./Maryland) was named the team’s Most Valuable Player after leading the team with 14 dual wins and a 7-3 Big Ten record. By virtue of her rise from the No. 7 position to the No. 1 spot in the singles lineup over her career, Lindsay Williams (Sr., Beverly Hills, Mich./Birmingham Groves) earned Most Improved. Lindsay Bryan (Jr., New Orleans, La./Ursuline Academy), who became a regular in the singles starting lineup in the second half of the season, was named the winner of the Coach’s Award. The team’s four seniors, Erica Fisk (Sr., Indianapolis, Ind./Pike), Jackie Leskovar (Sr., Cambridge, Ontario/N.C. State), Meaghan Colville (Sr., Toronto, Ontario/Western Michigan) and Williams also were honored.

The No. 39 ranked Buckeyes (13-13, 6-5 Big Ten) earned their sixth consecutive NCAA championship berth this season thanks in large part to a late season flourish that saw them win five of their last six matches. That string included three wins in three days at the Big Ten championship over Penn State, No. 20 Illinois and Iowa to reach the title match.

Ohio State faces Harvard in round one at 11 a.m. Friday in Cambridge, Mass. The winner of the match between the Buckeyes and the Crimson (14-9) advances to a second-round match with the winner of a match between No. 17 Kentucky and Boston University. The second round match is set for noon Saturday.