January 20, 1999

COLUMBUS, Ohio – The Ohio State women’s swimming and diving team (5-3, 1-1 in the Big Ten) faces Cincinnati (5-4) at the Peppe Aquatic Center Friday night (Jan. 22). The meet marks the 25th time the two teams have met, and the second time the teams have seen each other this season.


%^$The Buckeyes fell 108-97 to the Bearcats last year on Jan 9, but OSU leads the overall series 17-7.


%^$The Bearcats swam last weekend at Indiana. The Hoosiers claimed the victory 169-124 over UC. Sophomore Sofia Svensson (Eslov, Sweden) had her best meet of the season, winning both the 200 butterfly (2:04.30) and 200 backstroke (2:04.68) events. The only other multiple winner was senior diver Angie Trostel (Oxford,Ohio) who won both the one and three meter diving events. Last year UC won the National Independent Conference titles and collected top 25 finishes at the NCAA Championships, but with the graduation of several seniors, newcomers will have to step it up. UC returns 14 letterwinners, with only four seniors in the lineup. The team is led by senior divers Becky Ruehl who has a fourth place Olympic finish in Atlanta, and Angie Trostel who is a seven time All American. Both swimming teams are coached by Monty Hopkins (10th season) while Charlie Casuto (23rd season) is the head diving coach.%^$ %^$OSU vs. NOTRE DAME AND ILLINOIS%^$ %^$Carrie Ziebarth won the one-meter diving event and Keryn Krynauw won the breaststroke event, but the Buckeyes did not come out on top. OSU finished third with 253.50 points against No. 23 Notre Dame 409.50, and Big Ten rival Illinois with 380 points. The 200 Medley Relay team recorded their season best time of 1:47.52.


%^$The Buckeyes remain home for the rest of the season. The Buckeyes will host the last five meets on their schedule: Denison on Jan. 29, Wright State on Jan. 30, Syracuse on Feb. 5, and Pittsburgh on Feb. 6.


%^$Both Keryn Krynauw 200 breaststroke (2:17.45), and Heidi Hazen 100 butterfly (:55.84) have qualified for the NCAA Championship March 18-20, 1999.