Nov. 24, 2003

Complete Release in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

COLUMBUS, Ohio– The Ohio State women’s swimming and diving team plays host to the Cleveland State Vikings on Tuesday at 5 p.m. at the Mike Peppe Aquatic Center. The Buckeyes finished fourth at the Northwestern Invitational this past weekend, maintaining a 3-1 overall season record.

The Cleveland State Vikings enter the meet with a 3-3 record, posting losses to Eastern Michigan, St. Bonaventure and Wisconsin-Green Bay. The Vikings most recently lost to Eastern Michigan 165-72 at home.

Freshman Marianne Lionell has made a huge impact on the team, breaking the pool record in the 50-yard freestyle with a time of 23.86 and in the 200-yard breaststroke with at time of 2:22.72. Lionell has placed first at every meet so far in the 50-yard freestyle.

Tina Abbot leads the team in the other freestyle events, placing first in the 100-, 200- and 500-yard freestyle at the Gannon meet. Samantha Jones has also proven herself in the butterfly and backstroke, along with Kristy McKenchnie in the individual medley.

Head coach Mike Lehto enters his ninth year at the helm of the Vikings, compiling a 66-73 record at Cleveland State.

The Buckeyes won nine of 11 events last year against the Vikings, earning their sixth win of the season with a final score of 122-70.

Stephanie Raezer was a double-event winner, swimming the 200-yard freestyle in a time of 1:55.77 and the 100-yard butterfly in a time of 59.51. Deanna Strunk also took home two events, placing first in both the 200-yard individual medley and 500-yard freestyle.

Ashley Routson won the 50-yard freestyle, while Kristina Lipskis and Kylie Lancken took the 100- and 1,000-yard freestyle events. The Buckeyes also won the 200-yard medley relay and 200-yard freestyle relay.

Deanna Strunk led the Buckeyes with a first-place finish in the 400-yard individual medley with at time of 4:23.88. Strunk also set a lifetime best in the 100-yard butterfly with a time of 57.73.

Nicole Maglich set a lifetime and season best time, placing second in the 200-yard freestyle in a time of 1:52.29. Kylie Lancken also placed second in the 200-yard backstroke.

Ohio State was narrowly defeated by No. 16 Michigan 153.5-146.5 in a suspenseful meet Nov. 14, with both teams exchanging the lead several times and the Buckeyes entering the final event ahead of the Wolverines.

With Michigan leading by three points going into the next to last event, Deanna Strunk took an early lead in the 400-yard individual medley and placed first with a season best time of 4:25.14. Liz Osterer and Stephanie Raezer took third and fourth, scoring a total of 14 points in the event to put the Buckeyes ahead 144.5-138.5. Head coach Jeanne Fleck immediately switched up her relay teams, spreading her talent in hopes of taking at least second and third place in the 400-yard freestyle relay to maintain the point lead.

Ohio State finished only three seconds behind Michigan to take third and fourth place, giving up the dual meet win by seven points.

Gulsah Gunenc took her third consecutive win in the 200-yard butterfly in a time of 2:03.26, setting a season’s best time. Freshman Julie Broms also continued her success with the Buckeyes, placing first in both the 1-meter dive with a score of 281.70 and the 3-meter dive with a score of 293.63, both NCAA zone diving qualifying marks. Broms has placed first in all but one of the diving events so far in the dual meet season.

Breaking a pool record set by Michigan at the Mike Peppe Aquatic Center in 1994, Rebekah Rychvalsky won the 200-yard breaststroke with an NCAA B qualifying time of 2:18.79 against Michigan. This was Rychvalsky’s third consecutive first-place finish in the 200-yard breaststroke this season. Rychvalsky also won the 100-yard breaststroke in a time of 1:04.16.

At the first home meet Nov. 7, the squad earned its second and third win against Louisville, 171-62, and West Virginia, 169.5-65.5, sweeping all of the events. Nicole Maglich brought in two wins, making a time of 1:52.94 in the 200-yard freestyle and 4:59.55 in the 500-yard freestyle. Deanna Strunk also won two events, taking first-place in the 200-yard individual medley (2:09.09) and 200-yard backstroke (2:08.95).

The squad placed first, second and third in the 200-yard breaststroke, with Rebekah Rychvalsky placing first in the 200-yard breaststroke with a time of 2:21.14, followed closely by Stephanie Raezer in second place and Liz Osterer in third. This was the first time in head coach Jeanne Fleck’s tenure at Ohio State that the squad took first, second and third in an event.

Kylie Lancken won the 50-yard freestyle (24.78) and Katie Severson won the 100-yard freestyle (53.29), along with Stephanie Raezer setting an impressive season best in the 1,000-yard freestyle with a time of 10:11.54. Gulsah Gunenc also won the 200-yard butterfly, a streak she would continue against Michigan. The Buckeyes placed first in the 400-yard medley relay and 400-yard freestyle relay.

The Buckeyes also defeated Bowling Green 134-99 in the season opener, with Nicole Maglich placing first in the 500- and 1,000-yard freestyle and Ashley Barnes and Katie Severson taking the 50- and 100-yard freestyle. Kylie Lancken won both the 200-yard freestyle and 200-yard backstroke, with Gulsah Gunenc taking the 200-yard butterfly.

Freshman Julie Broms won the 1- and 3-meter dives at the West Virginia and Louisville meet, along with getting her first Buckeye win at the Bowling Green meet in the 1-meter dive. Anesa Beard also took her first Buckeye win at the Bowling Green meet, scoring 234.45 points in the 3-meter dive.

Head coach Jeanne Fleck enters her fifth year with the Buckeyes, one garnered with 25 All-Big Ten selections and 41 OSU Scholar-Athletes. Fleck lost no Big Ten scorers last season and has recruited nationally and internationally ranked freshman to the team this season.

Before taking over the Ohio State program prior to the 1999 season, Fleck was both the women and men’s head coach at Northern Illinois for eight years. In her final season at NIU, Fleck was named Mid-American Conference Coach of the year after she led her women’s and men’s teams to third- and fifth-place finishes, respectively.

With his top diver taking home the NCAA platform diving championship for the first time in school history last year, head diving coach Vince Panzano looks to move into his 26th year at Ohio State building on that success.

In his 29 years of coaching, Panzano has produced one world champion, one junior world champion, two Olympic medalists, 22 U.S. diving champions, 10 NCAA champions, 14 NCAA runners-up, 42 Big Ten champions and 65 All-Americans.

Panzano has been awarded the “Mike Peppe Award” twice and has been selected Big Ten Diving Coach of the Year seven times. Along with three NCAA Diving Coach of the Year titles, Panzano was also inducted into the Ohio State University’s Athletic Hall of Fame.

The Buckeyes travel to Auburn, Ala. to compete in the Auburn Invitational Dec. 5-7.