COLUMBUS, Ohio – Senior defender Cassie Dickerson was honored as the 2010 Ohio State women’s soccer team MVP at the team’s annual awards brunch, held Sunday at Ohio Stadium. The Buckeyes finished the season with a 17-5-2 record, marking the second-most wins in program history, and won a share of the program’s first Big Ten championship.

Dickerson, the 2010 Big Ten Defensive Player of the Year and an NSCAA first team All-American, also was named the Buckeyes Defensive MVP. The 2010 co-captain started all 24 games for the Buckeyes, anchoring a defense that recorded 12 shutouts in 2010 after 13 a year ago. After battling back from multiple knee injuries, the three-time captain has helped lead the Buckeyes to a 31-8-4 record over the last two seasons in games she has started. She also was named one of 15 semifinalists for the MAC Hermann Trophy, the most prestigious individual award in intercollegiate soccer.

Junior forward Paige Maxwell earned Offensive MVP honors after leading the Buckeyes and tying for second in the conference with 10 goals, including five game-winners, and adding a pair of assists. The 2010 Big Ten Offensive Player of the Year has led the team in goals in each of her three seasons and ranks seventh in program history with 24 career goals.

Reed Most Improved
Kendyl Reed was named the Buckeyes’ Most Improved Player for the second-consecutive year after playing in all 24 games, starting one. The sophomore provided an excellent spark off the bench for the Buckeyes with her great work rate and pace in the midfield.

Brand and Jenkins Earn Coaches’ Award
Seniors Genna Brand and Courtney Jenkins earned the 2010 Coaches’ award. Brand played in eight games for the Buckeyes, scoring a goal and adding an assist. Jenkins, the Elite 88 award winner for the highest cumulative grade-point average at the College Cup, was named third team Academic All-District in 2008. She also was named NSCAA Scholar All-East Region honorable mention in 2009 and recorded seven goals and six assists in her career. The pair are a part of the winningest senior class in Ohio State women’s soccer history.

Elisa S. Hamilton Award Goes to Beachy (Again) and Sullivan
The Elisa S. Hamilton award, which goes to the player who consistently displays relentless intensity, passion and fury in her play, was taken by Lauren Beachy for the fourth-consecutive year and Liz Sullivan. Beachy started all 24 games this season and 76 in her career. A two-time CoSIDA ESPN Academic All-District and Academic All-Big Ten honoree, she recorded a pair of assists this season and ranks in a tie for ninth on the Ohio State career assists list with 13. Sullivan played in all 24 games this season, starting all but one. She scored a pair of goals and tied for second on the team with five assists while playing a huge role on the Buckeyes’ back line.

Fuller Named Walker’s Fiery Buckeye
Megan Fuller earned Walker’s Fiery Buckeye award, given to a player displaying mature play and an experience level beyond a typical freshman. Fuller played in all 24 matches, starting 23, at center back for the Buckeyes.