April 12, 2008



COLUMBUS, Ohio The OhioState women’s lacrosse team (7-6; 0-2 ALC) returns home for a 1 p.m. match Sunday, April 13, vs. Davidson at Jesse Owens Memorial Stadium. It will be Camper Reunion Day, with pregame face painting and entertainment from Matt the Balloon Guy. The Buckeyes will host a Youth Clinic following the game.



OhioState is 7-6 overall and 4-3 at home. The Buckeyes are 0-2 in American Lacrosse Conference action and 7-4 in non-conference play for 2008.



Senior Kristen Slahor, who has 41 assists through 13 games, is ranked first among the NCAA leaders in that category this week. Her average of 3.25 per game puts her ahead of Denver’s Steph Coyne, who had a 3.09 average through 11 games. Slahoris also ninth in the nation in scoring.



Sophomore Brittney Zerhusen set an OhioState single-game with seven goals against Bucknell, all coming in the first half. Zerhusen finished the evening with eight points.



At OhioState, senior Kristen Slahor has climbed to the top of the all-time scoring leaders list. Her 188 career points surpassed the total of current assistant coach Megan Mirick, who scored 182 points from 1999-2002.


Slahorset OhioState season records in 2007 with 73 points and 45 assists. The Ellicott City, Md., product has 19 goals and 41 assists this season.


Jessica Patane is now seventh in career goals scored among OhioState’s all-time leaders. Patane has 84 goals to date. The Ohio State career top 10: 1) Megan Mirick (143); 2) Regina Oliver (125); 3) Shannon Wilson (110); 4) Tracey Bounds (107); 5) Celeste Cianfrani (87); 6) Lauren Cochran (86); 7) Jessica Patane (84); Mara Simpson (84); 9) Erin Andersen (83); 10) Caroline Weatherill (74).



The Buckeye scoring attack has plenty of weapons; seven different OhioState players have scored at least 10 points in 2008. Leading that list is Kristen Slahor, with 60 points (19 goals and 41 assists).


Brittney Zerhusen (26 goals, eight assists) has 34 points scored. Next in scoring are Kelly Haggerty (30), Jessica Patane (24), Amanda Shimp (22), Maghan Beaudrault (22) and Rachel Hawes (18).



OhioState will play at Johns Hopkins Monday, April 28, in a 3 p.m. ALC game rescheduled from March 9. The original date was postponed because of the blizzard that hit Columbus that weekend, making travel impossible for the Buckeyes. The game at Johns Hopkins will be the regular season finale for OhioState before the Buckeyes begin ALC tournament play May 2 at Northwestern.



Senior Kristen Slahor was selected as the American Lacrosse Conference’s player of the week for March 4 after two exceptional performances against Cal-Davis and California. The Ellicott City, Md., native tied an OhioState game record with eight assists in the 18-7 win at Davis; six of those assists were in the first half. In the 10-7 win over California, Slahor scored two goals and three assists, both team highs.


Two Buckeye seniors received preseason honors from the ALC. Attackers Slahorand Jessica Patane (Farmingdale, N.Y.) were part of the 14-player squad selected by the ALC’s head coaches prior to 2008 conference play.



In her 13th season as head coach of the Buckeyes, Sue Stimmel holds a 99-96 record at OhioState. Her career coaching record is 175-114 including six years at Denison.


Coach Stimmel’s first Buckeye win was a 7-6 victory at Mt. St. Mary’s March 30, 1996. Her 50th win at OhioState was a 12-11 decision at Maryland March 31, 2002.


Stimmel was president of the Midwest Lacrosse Association from 1991-98, serving as a member of the executive board for the USWLA.  She is a past chair of the mid-Atlantic NCAA Regional Advisory Committee and the Division I Vice-President of the IWLCA. Stimmel is the current chair of the IWLCA Ethics Committee. In 2000, Stimmel was inducted into the Ohio Lacrosse Foundation Hall of Fame.


OhioState’s assistant coaches are prominent alums of the Buckeye lacrosse program: Megan Mirick (2003) and Kylee White (2002).



The Buckeyes conclude the home portion of the 2008 campaign Sunday, April 20, with a 1 p.m. game against ALC rival PennState at Jesse Owens Memorial Stadium. That will be Senior Recognition Day.