COLUMBUS, Ohio Ohio State women’s lacrosse alumna Regina Oliver has been selected by U.S. Lacrosse to represent the United States in the 2008 Prague Cup June 25-28 in the Czech Republic. Oliver, a 2005 Ohio State All-American, was also an assistant coach with the Buckeyes after graduation. Recently named by Lacrosse magazine as one of the Top 10 African-American lacrosse players of the past decade, Oliver is currently assistant lacrosse coach at Duquesne.

The Prague Cup touring team consists of 18 players and six alternates that were selected from the U.S. Elite and Developmental teams following the US Lacrosse Champions Challenge this past weekend in Lake Buena Vista, Fla.

“I believe that the U.S. National Team is stronger than ever and that the incredible talent pool makes these decisions very hard,” said Sue Heether, head coach of the U.S. Elite team and a former three-time World Cup champion goaltender. “I feel very confident that this group will represent us well as we continue to prepare for the 2009 World Cup.”

The 2009 International Federation of Women’s Lacrosse Associations World Cup will also be held in the Czech Republic. Australia defeated the U.S. in the 2005 World Cup in Annapolis, Md., ending a run of four straight U.S. world championships.

The Prague Cup field includes the Czech Republic, England, Germany, Scotland and Wales.

Name Pos College (Graduation year)
Sarah Albrecht M Northwestern 06
Amy Altig G James Madison 05
Kelly Berger M James Madison 07
Quinn Carney A Maryland 01
Katie Chrest M Duke 06
Caroline Cryer A Duke 08
Michele DeJuliis A/M Penn State 98
Whitney Douthett M Dartmouth 07
Michi Ellers M/D Georgetown 04
Amber Falcone D North Carolina 09
Kristen Kjellman M Northwestern 07
Erica LaGrow M North Carolina 08
Nikki Lieb M Virginia 07
Lindsey Munday A Northwestern 06
Regina Oliver D Ohio State 05
Elizabeth Pillion D Princeton 05
Acacia Walker M Maryland 05
Devon Wills G Dartmouth 06

Mary Key A Johns Hopkins 07
Jessi Lieb M Penn State 08
Kendall McBrearty G Virginia 08
Caitlyn McFadden M Maryland 10
Mallory Poole M C.W. Post 08
Kelly Taylor D North Carolina 09