April 11, 2018

Women’s Hockey Honored at OSU Scholar Athlete Dinner


COLUMBUS, Ohio — Twenty-two members of the Ohio State University women’s ice hockey team were named OSU Scholar Athletes, and senior Lauren Spring earned two special distinctions at the 51st annual OSU Scholar Athlete dinner on Monday night.

Spring was named as one of the Corwin A. Fergus Memorial Award recipients. Fergus scholars are male or female student-athletes who have excelled in athletics, achieved academically (3.00 GPA minimum), demonstrated positive qualities of character and citizenship and shown potential for success in a graduate or professional program. Established in 1967, the award is given in memory of Corwin A. Fergus, a member of the Ohio State football team (1912-14), a graduate of the Ohio State School of Law and later a successful businessman. The award reflects his strong commitment to the pursuit of academic and athletic excellence and his positive contributions to society. The $5,000 postgraduate scholarships, which each are renewable for up to three years, can be utilized for graduate study or professional programs at Ohio State.

In addition to her Fergus honor, Spring of the women’s hockey team received the Leann Grimes-Davidge Award, which is a tribute to Grimes-Davidge’s contributions to athletics at Ohio State. The honor is given annually to a female athlete who reflects Grimes-Davidge’s outstanding qualities of athletic performance, scholarship, character, campus or community involvement and leadership. A member of the Ohio State women’s tennis team, Grimes-Davidge won four state and Big Ten titles. She graduated from Ohio State summa cum laude and received her master’s degree from Miami University where she served as the head women’s tennis coach.

As a whole, the women’s hockey team was recognized for having the most improved grade point average among all the large roster teams. The 22 OSU Scholar Athlete honorees are listed below.

Sam Bouley, Lauren Boyle, Lisa Bruno, Maggie Cory, Charly Dahlquist, Jincy Dunne, Maddy Field, Rebecca Freiburger, Julianna Iafallo, Emma Maltais, Jacyn Reeves, Elise Riemenschneider, Dani Sadek, Kassidy Sauve, Liz Schepers, Tatum Skaggs, Olivia Soares, Lauren Spring, Lynsey Wallace, McKenna Wesloh, Grace Zarzecki, and Amanda Zeglen.

In total a record 692 Buckeyes were honored as OSU Scholar Athletes, meaning each athlete earned at least a 3.00 or higher GPA.