May 14, 2001

COLUMBUS, Ohio–Jackie Barto, head women’s hockey coach, announced the annual awards for the Ohio State women’s hockey team during its awards dinner Saturday at the Holiday Inn on the Lane. The event honored senior captain Corinne Rosen (Milwaukee, Wis./Pomfret) and the rest of the 19 student-athletes on the 2000-01 squad, coaches, support staff, family and friends.

Barto started the evening with a highlight video and a recap of the 2000-01 season, in which Ohio State skated to an 18-16-3 record, advanced to the finals of the Western Collegiate Hockey Association Championships and finished the season ranked No. 8 in the nation. An awards presentation followed and honored student-athletes with awards voted on by their teammates.

Lindsey Ogren (So., North Oaks, Minn./Moundsview) won the Academic Award for the second-consecutive season for having the highest grade point average on the team. Freshman center Erin O’Grady (London, Ontario/Culver Academy) and sophomore wing Sarah Van Riper (Hilliard, Ohio/Hilliard Davidson) shared the Most Improved Player Award, while Emma Laaksonen (Espoo, Finland/Makelanrinteen) was named the Most Valuable Freshman. Shana Frost (Frankford, Ontario/Bayside) took home the Seventh Player Award for her leadership and dedication to the team that often goes unnoticed. Finally, Laaksonen was named the Most Valuable Defensive Player and Rosen earned Most Valuable Offensive Player honors, also for the second-consecutive year.

Sophomores Melissa Pirie (Islington, Ontario/Etobicoke Collegiate) and Frost were co-winners of the Scarlet Letter Award, presented by and voted on annually by the off-ice and minor officials. The award recognizes Ohio State’s most intense competitor. Barto ended the evening by announcing the 2001-02 team captains. For the second-consecutive season, Melissa Glaser (So., Rockford, Ill./St. Mark’s), Emily Hudak (So., Marblehead, Mass./Cushing Academy) and Ogren will be co-captains, as chosen by the team.