May 31, 2005

COLUMBUS, Ohio – The Ohio State women’s gymnastics team celebrated its 2005 season at the annual team awards banquet May 4 at the University Plaza Hotel in Columbus, Ohio. First-year head coach Carey Fagan and assistants Bill Lorenz and Jay Santos awarded the Buckeye gymnasts with several different awards for their achievements during the 2005 season.

Elizabeth Meaney (Sr., Ashtabula, Ohio/Edgewood) and freshman Maalika Moore-Thomas (Tampa, Fla./King) walked away with the most hardware. Meaney was awarded the team’s Most Dedicated Award and the coveted “O”chievement Award, which she shared with teammate Kaylin Schlecht (Jr., Marion Ohio/River Valley). Moore-Thomas garnered the Coaches Award, shared the Best Attitude Award with Brittany Livingston (So., Lisle, Ill./ Wheaton North) and shared the Most Improved Gymnast Award with teammate Helina Manesis (Fr., Colts Neck, N.J./Colts Neck)

Emily Sineway (Jr., Norcross, Ga./Norcross) was named team captain for the 2006 season and claimed the Academic Achievement award for holding a 4.0 grade point average since her freshman year.

The team also gave a final farewell to its two seniors, Meaney and Jenni Lymanstall (Defiance, Ohio/Tinora). Meaney was selected as First Team All-Big Ten this season and competed in the 2005 NCAA Central Region Championships on beam, placing third with a mark of 9.850. Meaney also posted a 9.850 or better on beam in nine of Ohio State’s 10 meets this season winning eight beam titles. In addition, Meaney was the Buckeyes’ top floor competitor, averaging a 9.783. Lymanstall contributed to Ohio State’s success on floor, averaging a score of 9.605.

## GO BUCKS! ##