April 29, 2000

%^$MADISON, Wis. – The No. 13 Ohio State women’s crew varsity eight boat didn’t let cool temperatures hinder their performance, as they finished third with a time of 6:23.07 in the inaugural Big Ten Championships, Saturday on Lake Wingra in Madison, Wis. The Buckeyes’ varsity four boat won the petite final with a time of 7:28.43.%^$

%^$Sophomore Connie Kirsch (Potsdam, Germany) was named first team All-Big Ten. Teammates Megan Hura (Sr., Ravenna, Ohio) and Phae Giblin (Fr., NSW Australia) earned second team All-Big Ten honors.%^$

%^$Ohio State’s novice eight crew finished second, behind Michigan, in the petite final with a time of 6:59.99. The Buckeyes did not race in the second varsity four race or in the varsity four grand final race.%^$

%^$Ohio State finished third overall. Michigan claimed the conference title.%^$

%^$Ohio State has a week of rest before traveling to the Central Regional regatta May 13-14, in Oak Ridge, Tenn.