COLUMBUS, Ohio The Ohio State women’s basketball team earned a No. 6 seed in the New Orleans Regional and will play No. 11 seed Florida State at 10:30 p.m. ET at Wells Fargo Arena in Des Moines, Iowa, Saturday, March 22 in the first round of the 2008 NCAA Women’s Basketball Championship. The game will be televised on ESPN2 and can be heard on WOSU 820 AM.

Ohio State is making its sixth-consecutive and 17th overall trip to the championship. The Big Ten regular-season champions for a fourth-consecutive year, the 25th-ranked Buckeyes enter the tournament with a 22-8 record after finishing 13-5 in the Big Ten.

The winner of the Ohio State-Florida State (18-13) game will take on the winner of No. 3 seed Oklahoma State (25-7) and No. 14 seed East Tennessee State (21-11) on Monday, March 24 in Des Moines. It will be Ohio State’s first meeting with any of the three schools.

Head coach Jim Foster is making his ninth-consecutive trip to the tournament and his 22nd overall — 29-21 all-time. In Foster’s first six seasons at Ohio State, the Buckeyes have earned No. 1 (2006), No. 2 (2005), No. 4 (2003, 2007) and No. 6 (2004, 2008) seeds in the tournament. Ohio State has earned at least a second-round finish in four of five seasons under Foster, including a trip to the Round of 16 in 2005.
Besides the 1993 Final Four trip, the Buckeyes have advanced twice to the Elite Eight (1985, 1987) and have been “Sweet 16” participants on four occasions (1986, 1988, 1989, 2005). Ohio State’s participation also includes four first (1982, 1984, 1999, 2007) and five second round (1990, 1996, 2003, 2004 and 2006) finishes.