April 29, 2017

Women Claim HyVee Cup at Drake Relays, Roberts Sets New School Standard in Pole Vault


April 29, 2017

Des Moines, Iowa – The Ohio State women’s relay teams combined to score 24 points at the Drake Relays to win the 2017 edition of the HyVee Cup, a trophy presented to the team that accumulated the most points from five separate relays, on Saturday at Drake Stadium.

“It was a good day for our women, they came out here and battled some tough conditions to win the Cup,” director of track & field and cross country Karen Dennis said. “I wanted us to run well and get one good last meet in before our conference meet in two weeks, and we accomplished that.”

Drake Relays | Friday Results | Saturday Results

The women received six points from the 4x800m relay crew of Sarah Kanney, Olivia Smith, Lainey Studebaker and Rachel Weber on Friday evening with a time of 8:42.70 to place third. Three of those four runners returned on Saturday as members of the distance medley relay team. They clocked a 11:42.87 to place seventh in the event; Tamani Wilson was inserted for the 400m dash leg of the race and she clocked a 54.94 split.

The biggest point haul of the day came from the 4x100m and 4x400m relay teams, both of which placed second for a total of 16 points. The women’s 4x100m unit of Aaliyah Barnes, Beatrie Hannan, Bliss Soleyn and Taylor DeLoach zoomed around the track with a time of 45.37. With the HyVee Cup on the line in the final relay of the meet, the women’s 4x400m relay of Hannan, Karrington Winters, Barnes and Maggie Barrie came up clutch. The foursome circled the track four times, one each apiece, to finish second and secure the HyVee Cup title. This is the fifth year the HyVee Cup has been presented, and this is the first time Ohio State has claimed it.

The men’s relays finished second in the HyVee Cup standings with 28 points only being outscored by Iowa (39 points). The men’s 4x100m relay claimed the only gold of the day for the Buckeyes with a season-best time of 39.51. James Clark started it off and passed the baton to Duan Asemota who gave way to Nick Gray, and Deshawn Marshall chased down Iowa’s anchor runner for the title. The time was just outside the Top 3 all-time at Ohio State and it gave the Buckeyes 10 points.

“For our four-by-one to finally get under 40 seconds is huge,” Dennis mentioned. “All four guys on the relay gave us really good legs. These guys can go a lot faster if better conditions are in place. We believe that this relay can compete, and possibly score, on the national level for us.”

The 4x400m relay of Champ Page, Gray, Asa Burke and Marshall closed out the meet on the men’s side with a silver in the event with a time of 3:08.80 for eight points. Aside from the relays, Gray and Marshall sprinted to a three-four finish in the 100m dash with times of 10.47 and 10.62, respectively.

The sprint medley relay – Brent Carroll, DaJuan Seward, Terry Johnson and Dominik Seitzer – clocked a time of 3:27.66 to place sixth in its event (three points), and the distance medley relay of Jared Fleming, Seitzer, Alex Lomong and Kevin Blank place seventh (two points) with a readout of 10:01.17.

The men’s hurdle shuttle of Johnson, Donovan Robertson, Seward and Carroll ran the event twice on Saturday. The foursome qualified with a time of 59.43, and then they lowered it in the finals with a readout of 57.89 in the finals to garner bronze.

Chantel Ray and Barnes both finished second in their respective individual events. Ray used a 13.23 in the 100m hurdles and Barnes clocked a personal record of 11.67 in the 100m dash.

Ashland, Ohio | Results
For the second time this season, junior Madison Roberts bettered her previous school record in the pole vault. Roberts used a clearance of 4.08m (13-4.50) to set the school standard and win gold at the Ashland Alumni Open on Saturday afternoon.

Fellow pole vaulter Coty Cobb captured a title for the second-straight. Cobb cleared a height of 5.07m (16-7.50) to earn the gold.

Zack Bazile had a victorious day, the junior registered a time of 11.02 to take home the title in the 100m dash.

Up Next
Ohio State will have a two week break before the Big Ten Championships (May 12-14) begin in State College, Pa.