US Lacrosse Names World Cup Roster



US Lacrosse has announced the 18 women’s players selected by the coaching staff to compete for the United States in the 2009 Federation of International Lacrosse World Cup from June 17-27 in the Czech Republic.

Ohio State alumna Regina Oliver is one of two defenders selected for the World Cup squad. Oliver, a 2005 Ohio State All-American, was also an assistant coach with the Buckeyes after graduation. Named by Lacrosse magazine as one of the top 10 African-American lacrosse players of the past decade, Oliver is currently assistant lacrosse coach at Duquesne.

The team was selected following the Champion Challege event in Lake Buena Vista, Fla., this past weekend.

None of the 18 players selected were on the final U.S. roster for the 2005 World Cup, when the Americans fell to Australia in the championship game in Annapolis, Md. The most experienced international players are Katie Chrest, Michele DeJuliis and Acacia Walker, who were all alternates for the 2005 World Cup. Six current collegiate players were named to the team.

The U.S. training team won all five of its games in Florida, including coming from two goals down in the second half to beat Japan 17-11. The U.S. team will be in action again this weekend for the South of the Border tournament in North Carolina, an event highlighted by games against England and Wales.

The complete roster follows:

Caroline Cryer – Duke 09
Lindsey Munday – Northwestern 06
Katie Rowan – Syracuse 09

Sarah Albrecht – Northwestern 06
Sarah Bullard – Duke 11
Katie Chrest – Duke 06
Michele DeJuliis – Penn State 98
Whitney Douthett – Dartmouth 07
Michi Ellers – Georgetown 04
Kristen Kjellman – Northwestern 07
Erica LaGrow – North Carolina 08
Caitlyn McFadden – Maryland 10
Holly McGarvie – Princeton 09
Acacia Walker – Maryland 05

Amber Falcone – North Carolina 09
Regina Oliver – Ohio State 05

Megan Huether – Duke 06
Devon Wills – Dartmouth 06

Amy Altig – James Madison 05
Hilary Bowen – Northwestern 09
Quinn Carney – Maryland 01
Christy Finch – Northwestern 08
Jessica Lieb – Penn State 08
Nikki Lieb – Virginia 06