COLUMBUS, Ohio Freshman Alayna Markwordt has been named the American Lacrosse Conference Rookie of the Year in balloting by the league’s coaches.

Markwordt is the fifth Buckeye to earn Rookie of the Year honors. The rookie ranks fifth in the league in scoring (4.38 ppg) while averaging 2.69 goals per game (6th, ALC) and 1.69 assists per game (3rd, ALC). A three-time ALC Rookie of the Week selection, Markwordt was also named the ALC Offensive Player of the Week once. Maghan Beaudrault was the 2008 ALC Rookie of the Year.

Junior Kelly Haggerty and senior Kendall Gysin were first team all-conference selections, while Markwordt was named to the all-conference second team.

Northwestern’s Hannah Nielsen was named the American Lacrosse Conference’s Player of the Year for the second consecutive year, and Northwestern’s Morgan Lathrop was named the league’s Goalie of the Year and head coach Kelly Amonte Hiller earned Coach of the Year honors.  The national leader in points and assists, Nielsen averages 6.59 points per game and 3.53 assists per game. The 2008 Tewaaraton honoree, Nielsen holds the game (10), season (69), and career (201) assists records in collegiate women’s lacrosse history.

Lathrop ranks second in the nation in goals-against average (5.96) and ranks fifth nationally in save percentage (52.2%). The 2007 ALC Goalie of the Year, Lathrop also ranks among the conference leaders in ground balls, ranking ninth with 1.76 gbpg. Amonte Hiller, who has guided the team to a 17-0 record and the top seed in the tournament, earned her fifth ALC Coach the Year honors with this selection.

The ‘Cats had five first team honorees while Vanderbilt had three and Ohio State had two; Penn State and Johns Hopkins both had a player named to the first team as well. Penn State and Northwestern had four selections on the second team while Johns Hopkins had a pair and Vanderbilt and Ohio State both had one honoree.

Player of the Year: Hannah Nielsen, Northwestern
Rookie of the Year: Alayna Markwordt, Ohio State
Goalie of the Year: Morgan Lathrop, Northwestern
Coach of the Year: Kelly Amonte Hiller, Northwestern

ALC First Team
Hilary Bowen, Northwestern
Katrina Dowd, Northwestern
Sarah Downing, Vanderbilt
Cara Giordano, Vanderbilt
Kendall Gysin, Ohio State
Kelly Haggerty, Ohio State

Angela Hughes, Johns Hopkins
Morgan Lathrop, Northwestern
Alex Mundy, Vanderbilt
Hannah Nielsen, Northwestern
Kerry Shea, Penn State
Danielle Spencer, Northwestern

ALC Second Team
Ashley Boccio, Penn State
Maggie Bremer, Northwestern
Theresa Bucci, Penn State
Ally Carey, Vanderbilt
Stephanie Ellis, Penn State
Alexandra Frank, Northwestern
Meredith Frank, Northwestern
Alyssa Kildare, Johns Hopkins
Alayna Markwordt, Ohio State
Colleen McCaffrey, Johns Hopkins
Kristen McCandlish, Northwestern
Erica Mihm, Penn State

The 11-5 Buckeyes return to action Friday in the ALC tournament semifinals against host Penn State at 5:30 p.m.